Is this Overheating? - Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums

00-01 R1 Mechanical Help Mechanical and Critical Issues for the 00-01 R1

10Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-16-2017, 05:44 PM Thread Starter
My R1 eats me.

Is this Overheating?

Hey guy just bought a 00 r1 last night and took it out today and noticed that when sitting at a stop light the temp goes from around 170-200ish is this normal? I'm new to sport bikes so please be easy on me. Lol. Thanks in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0268_1487295839044.JPG
Views:	51
Size:	124.3 KB
ID:	919074  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-16-2017, 06:35 PM
I eat my R1

Pretty normal.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 1 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-16-2017, 07:10 PM
I'm the happy go lucky mod!

Garage
Normal... nothing to worry about. All R1 years from 98-16 run around that temp.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 1 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

sig pic courtesy of THE GODFATHER!

Greenstreak quote from Barber... "Woah... I have a log in my ass!"

TEAM: SO FAST SO CLEAN
TEAM: SO SCARED NO LEAN

Godspeed to my fallen brothers - elviswarrior, Gawarrior, Vman1300

post #4 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-16-2017, 07:39 PM Thread Starter
My R1 eats me.

Thanks guys. Someone told me they start to melt at 220. Is this correct? I didn't notice my fans kick on when it got to that temp. If they are not kicking on is there a way I can make them kick on?
post #5 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-16-2017, 07:43 PM
kickin' at the darkness

The problem with bikes which are designed to be water-cooled (requiring radiator) is that the engine is not fancy machined to allow
for greater cooling purely by air pressure surrounding it.. Look closely at a cruiser engine which is air-cooled like my Raider and you