Dunlop Q3 rear tire size for a 2015 R1M - Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums

Tire Tech Forum Everything tire related post it here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-19-2016, 08:26 AM Thread Starter
Just made this great wheelie.. did you see it?!
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 37
Dunlop Q3 rear tire size for a 2015 R1M

Hello all,

Quick question... gonna be replacing my tires soon and wanted to go with Dunlop Q3. When I went online to place my order, saw that the Q3s only come in 190/55 or a 200/50. The stock rear size is a 200/55. So which would you guys recommend 190/55 or 200/50?

I really would like to not lose any rear height on the bike as I like the bike to be quicker on the turn in. I also do not want to have any error codes pop up on the dash (maybe due to different circumference?).

Any input would be greatly appreciated!
rayw1128 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-19-2016, 08:47 AM
I'm the happy go lucky mod!
 
Kevap's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Farmington, MI
Posts: 22,154
Garage
200/50


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 1 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

sig pic courtesy of THE GODFATHER!

Greenstreak quote from Barber... "Woah... I have a log in my ass!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 1 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


TEAM: SO FAST SO CLEAN
TEAM: SO SCARED NO LEAN

Godspeed to my fallen brothers - elviswarrior, Gawarrior, Vman1300
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 1 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Kevap is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-19-2016, 10:09 AM
Just made this great wheelie.. did you see it?!
 
Bhansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 47
You can do either. I had this same concern and went with the 190/55. The tire is so much better than the stock RS10. The Q3 really does well for track days.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bhansen is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-19-2016, 10:11 AM
I love the streets
 
Thejman1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,484
What is your riding style cause the q3 is gonna be less grip than what cam oem on there.
Thejman1000 is online now  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-19-2016, 10:17 AM
Just made this great wheelie.. did you see it?!
 
Bhansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 47
Not sure how to answer that--I run in the "A" group at my local track, Miller Motorsports (UMC). I've done some racing and lots of track days. I've run two sets of RS10s, lots of race tires and many sets of Q3 on lots of different bikes. For me, I think the Q3s offer similar grip and much better life. I could never get more than one day on the RS10s but Q3s last a couple of track days.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bhansen is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-19-2016, 10:33 AM Thread Starter
Just made this great wheelie.. did you see it?!
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 37
I'm gonna be running mostly in the local canyons, maybe 3 to 6 track days a year, B group level.

So both sizes on the Q3 works well?
rayw1128 is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-19-2016, 10:51 AM
Just made this great wheelie.. did you see it?!
 
Bhansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 47
I have not run the 200s, but a 190/55 is really close to a 200/50. Stock is 200/55. I know when I switched to the 190/55, my lap times went down .5 to 1 second. That is a big change and I think the Q3 just tips in better.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bhansen is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-19-2016, 02:15 PM
I love the streets
 
Thejman1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bhansen View Post
Not sure how to answer that--I run in the "A" group at my local track, Miller Motorsports (UMC). I've done some racing and lots of track days. I've run two sets of RS10s, lots of race tires and many sets of Q3 on lots of different bikes. For me, I think the Q3s offer similar grip and much better life. I could never get more than one day on the RS10s but Q3s last a couple of track days.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Forget the rs10 I'm talking the pirrelis why Yamaha put the rs10 on I have no idea
Thejman1000 is online now  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-20-2016, 07:28 PM
Thread killer...
 
YZF-Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Round Rock, Texas
Posts: 2,530
You could always run the GPA Pros...

Dunlop Racing » GP-A Pro


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 1 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
YZF-Rich is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome