Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner

Cross Plane R1 for taller rider.

10K views 14 replies 12 participants last post by  cyclepsycho7 
#1 ·
I did some poking around on the search section and on Google but could only come up with this topic on older models. What I'm after is a 09+ Cross plane engine R1. I'm 6' 4" 270lbs and am looking for a R1 Based on two things, the speed, and the awesome cross plane sound. I'm not new to bikes but I am new to the R1. I recently sat on a 2016 R1 at our local dealer and I felt as if i was on a pocket rocket. My knees came up past the gas tank and I just felt as if I was sitting on top of the tank. My buddy who was with me has a 2016 CBR1100RR and I fit perfect on it. I've seen some people say the 09-11 model R1s are a better fit but I can't find any info to confirm. Cycle Ergo also doesn't have a 2016 CBR to compare against the R1 on their site. I'd like to know which years were the best for a taller person rather than wasting time driving around to used dealers or private sellers and waste their time just to sit on a bike. Any help would be great!

#2 ·
The 09-14 R1 is probably the biggest liter out there so i think you would be fine on it. Its sucks driving around to dealers but thats what i would suggest for sure because on paper it might seem right but you'll never know until you sit on it. If possible i would get a test ride because thats the only way to know if it fits. If you manage to score a test ride with a am piped xplane you'll be sold even if it doesnt fit lol

#5 ·
I'm 6'4" at 275 lbs with a 2011 model R1 and I have spent have different rear sets (fully adjustable) and clip-ons. I'll admit putting the rear seats lower and forward then adjusting the clip-ons to fit my stance on the bike as been perfect-o for me. I have the Sato rear sets and renthal clip-ons with CRG full length leavers. If I can find a good used '16 or '15 I have both the '11 and '16 but, I just now got the '11 the way I like it.

#6 ·