Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner

Chicken Strips

4K views 22 replies 19 participants last post by  Kiel 
#1 ·
I have a couple questions for the more experienced riders out there. Here's a quick prelude: Just purchased a new 08 R1. I'm 6'6" 240 lbs and I've been riding for three years.

I don't have a problem leaning over in a turn. On my last bike (SV1000S) I could pretty much get it all the way over. On my new bike, When ever I get over far enough to get into the "chicken strip" (yes I still have chicken strips)zone of the wheel (about an inch from the edge of the tire I have felt the bike slip. I should note that the tires are warm at this point. I didn't have this problem on the SV. I know that once I wear that portion of the tire in, I should be fine but since the rear tire has slipped a couple times on me I've eased off in turns. Any Suggestions?

I've also wondered since I'm a bigger guy, if theres a certain point where the bike will give out under me in a turn? I'm sure there's bigger guys out there that drag knees but I'm having a hard time getting that tought out of my head. The bike should be able to handle it right?

THese questions are pretty nooby but I don't know many people that ride who I trust getting advice from. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

#2 ·
What tire pressures are you running?

You probably just need to get used to the new bike. Just ride within your comfort level and the lean angle will come. Or do a trackday and you will realize how much more the bike has left.

#3 ·
I have a couple questions for the more experienced riders out there. Here's a quick prelude: Just purchased a new 08 R1. I'm 6'6" 240 lbs and I've been riding for three years.