Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner

Exhaust questions

4K views 19 replies 13 participants last post by  T.C. 
#1 ·
I finally have the money for a full exhaust on my 2011 r1. Choosing between the Akrapovic YZF-R1 Evolution II Full Exhaust System and the LeoVince Corsa Full Titanium Exhaust System.

I want to know which system saves more weight, and i was hoping someone could tell me which one is louder?...

im leaning towards the leo right now and plan on ordering whichever one tmrw

thanks!! :riding

#2 ·
I'm no expert, but judging by the angle of the moon and the sun in relation to earth, the distance between the inside corners of my eyes and the fact that backflips are awesome, I'd say go with the Leos.

Lol sorry I'm tired, it's goin' on 1 am here and I get like this.

Really though the Leos seem IMO to sound not just louder, but more ferocious. Not that the bike needs a lot of help with that.

#3 ·
Akra weighs 13 pounds and 100.5 db at 6200rpm. I don't know if this is with or without inserts.

Had the Akra slipons and they sounded beast. A guy I know has the full system you want and they sound even better.

I know that with my slipons they were noticeably louder than stock with the inserts in and too loud (for me) when taken out.

Stock is 22 pounds and 98 db. I don't know about Leo's.

Listen to youtube clips if you can't hear them in person. You can't go wrong with either one.

#4 ·
not sure if its the same on an 11 r1 but from what ive seen on other years and bikes is akra has a better fit than the leo. everything fits in right and good measurements, both will drop weight if you get titanium. however a lot of the full titanium systems wear down a lot faster ex-(cracking,splitting,etc) than the ss, just differences between the two metals. as far as sound it depends on what you want.

#11 ·