quick throttle???? - Page 2 : Yamaha R1 Forum
» Insurance
» Yamaha R1 Prices
» Sponsors

Appearance & Mods Looks is important. Ask here for help on, flushmounts, undertails, bodywork, exhaust models etc

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2012, 08:08 AM   #21
2WEELFERRUM04
STFU and ride!!
 
2WEELFERRUM04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Bikes: '04 R1 Track-'07 R1
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 4,765
i installed the robby moto QT
it woke up the old beast
i took the throttle body out and found the cause of the surging at idle too
cracked grommets= air leaks
fixed that and the quick throttle is fawking awesome
__________________

2WEELFERRUM04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-31-2012, 07:41 PM   #22
da rza
I eat my R1
 
da rza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Bikes: 07 r1 charcoal/blk
Posts: 1,587
so i tried the quick throttle mod on my stock throttle and did not work did not have enough adjustment in throttle to get it to work correctly...not something you want to half-ass on anyways..so the search for robbymoto quick action is on...$ was a bit to high from superbikesupply jus waiting on pjs parts to answer email...for those who have installed rm qt what goes for install on 07/08 r1?i see the kit comes with cables or are they not used?...any feedback will be appreciated!...
__________________
2007 r1 charcoal/blk
da rza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 06:11 AM   #23
2WEELFERRUM04
STFU and ride!!
 
2WEELFERRUM04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Bikes: '04 R1 Track-'07 R1
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 4,765
the cables that come with it have to be used
be very careful as you tighten the two nuts to hold the cables at the throttle bodies
the tubed can be pulled apart at the threads
just tighten enough to make sure they wont slide off the steel plate.
let me know when you get it and i can walk thru it.
i took my throttle bodies out, it made for an easy install. plus i found issues with the airline caps. they were cracked and sucking air, the cause for my idle surging.
keep su posted
__________________

2WEELFERRUM04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 06:49 AM   #24
Benocehcap
Sonic Boom!
 
Benocehcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Bikes: 2001 Yamaha R1
Location: Azores,Portugal
Posts: 6,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2WEELFERRUM04 View Post
the cables that come with it have to be used
be very careful as you tighten the two nuts to hold the cables at the throttle bodies
the tubed can be pulled apart at the threads
just tighten enough to make sure they wont slide off the steel plate.
let me know when you get it and i can walk thru it.
i took my throttle bodies out, it made for an easy install. plus i found issues with the airline caps. they were cracked and sucking air, the cause for my idle surging.
keep su posted
Im about to buy one
Can you make a thread how to install one on a 01R1 pleaseeeeeeeeee
__________________
Benocehcap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 11:29 PM   #25
da rza
I eat my R1
 
da rza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Bikes: 07 r1 charcoal/blk
Posts: 1,587
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2WEELFERRUM04 View Post
the cables that come with it have to be used
be very careful as you tighten the two nuts to hold the cables at the throttle bodies
the tubed can be pulled apart at the threads
just tighten enough to make sure they wont slide off the steel plate.
let me know when you get it and i can walk thru it.
i took my throttle bodies out, it made for an easy install. plus i found issues with the airline caps. they were cracked and sucking air, the cause for my idle surging.
keep su posted
thanks i will
__________________
2007 r1 charcoal/blk
da rza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 01:53 PM   #26
da rza
I eat my R1
 
da rza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Bikes: 07 r1 charcoal/blk
Posts: 1,587
have had rm quick action throttle for awhile now and like it very much...is the silver cam the quickest pull?...and what order/color do they go quickest to slowest pull? appreciate owner feedback....and what holes on cams should be used for quickest pull or does it make a difference?
__________________
2007 r1 charcoal/blk

Last edited by da rza; 01-09-2013 at 05:35 PM.
da rza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 02:13 PM   #27
Reflections
I eat my R1
 
Reflections's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 780
i have the euro racing one, costs around 160 ish ? on my o6 racebike.
came with 3 cams, one is almost close to stock too if i wanted to go back without changing the whole assembly.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	029.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	472.6 KB
ID:	480003  
Reflections is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 02:15 PM   #28
Reflections
I eat my R1
 
Reflections's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by da rza View Post
have had rm quick action throttle for awhile now and like it very much...is the silver cam the quickest pull?...and what order/color do they go quickest to slowest pull? appreciate owner feedback....
stack the cams on top of eachother, the one with the largest gap (from hole to hole) is the shorter pull.
Reflections is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 07:16 AM   #29
MotoMinx
Gap Addict
 
MotoMinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Bikes: 2009 Triumph Street Triple R
Location: Maryville, TN
Posts: 25
The silver one is similar to the the stock cam. Then comes blue, then red, and the black is the shortest turn, which is only recommended for track use.
MotoMinx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 09:05 AM   #30
Tek Daddy
That Venom Swag Guy
 
Tek Daddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Bikes: 2005 R1
Location: Havelock NC
Posts: 735
Motion pro also makes an adjustable kit


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com App
__________________
Tek Daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 08:53 PM   #31
da rza
I eat my R1
 
da rza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Bikes: 07 r1 charcoal/blk
Posts: 1,587
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by MotoMinx View Post
The silver one is similar to the the stock cam. Then comes blue, then red, and the black is the shortest turn, which is only recommended for track use.
thanks man
__________________
2007 r1 charcoal/blk
da rza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 09:55 AM   #32
Race Engineer
I eat my R1
 
Race Engineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Bikes: R1 '99 4XV
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 316
What about the Activ kit, Firehawk2003 used one of these on his R7 Replica ;-)
Race Engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:49 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum
R1-Forum.com is an independent Yamaha enthusiast website. Content on R1-Forum.com is generated by its users and R1-Forum.com is not in any way affiliated with Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.