HOW TO: Install a Translogic Dash - Page 6 : Yamaha R1 Forum
» Insurance
» Yamaha R1 Prices
» Sponsors

How To's Please post your detailed How To's threads in here. They'll be of big help to owners of the R1.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2012, 06:07 AM   #101
ebags
1290!
 
ebags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Bikes: KTM SuperDuke 1290R
Location: Melb, Aust.
Posts: 8,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by markosaspiotis View Post
something new!!! have anyone connect the translogic temperarute sensor wires to the OEM temperature sensor??? is this possible to be done?? and if yes... it will shows the right temperature or not??
Where does it get a temp from now?
__________________
"Adding power makes you faster on the straights. Subtracting weight makes you faster everywhere."
Colin Chapman




PETROLSPICE ORIGINALS«


ebags is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-25-2012, 06:35 AM   #102
Redgecko
I'm an Englishman in WI.
 
Redgecko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Bikes: 06 R1 ULE
Location: WI
Posts: 30,357
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebags View Post
Where does it get a temp from now?
Both mine and Ben's are here.

__________________





Redgecko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 07:34 AM   #103
markosaspiotis
Ride It Like You Stole It!
 
markosaspiotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Bikes: Aprilia SR 86cc BigBore, R1 06(SBK project), CRF450R SM 04
Location: Corfu/Greece
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redgecko View Post
One thing at a time
hahahah
by the way i tested that and nothing... when the oem dash says 45 degrees the TLS says 55 degrees!! so this myth busted...
__________________

R1 2006 (SBK project)
markosaspiotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 09:00 AM   #104
ebags
1290!
 
ebags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Bikes: KTM SuperDuke 1290R
Location: Melb, Aust.
Posts: 8,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redgecko View Post
Both mine and Ben's are here.

Ah yes, I remember that now.
__________________
"Adding power makes you faster on the straights. Subtracting weight makes you faster everywhere."
Colin Chapman




PETROLSPICE ORIGINALS«


ebags is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 09:41 AM   #105
Redgecko
I'm an Englishman in WI.
 
Redgecko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Bikes: 06 R1 ULE
Location: WI
Posts: 30,357
Bit of extra info, the led will flash when the sensor plug is removed from the tank, so it is getting power from elsewhere too.
With the plug disconnected from the tank, the OEM dash connected and low fuel, the green/white wire has approx 14v at the plug.

Only problem is I have no idea now what this means
__________________





Redgecko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 09:54 AM   #106
markosaspiotis
Ride It Like You Stole It!
 
markosaspiotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Bikes: Aprilia SR 86cc BigBore, R1 06(SBK project), CRF450R SM 04
Location: Corfu/Greece
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redgecko View Post
Bit of extra info, the led will flash when the sensor plug is removed from the tank, so it is getting power from elsewhere too.
With the plug disconnected from the tank, the OEM dash connected and low fuel, the green/white wire has approx 14v at the plug.

Only problem is I have no idea now what this means
if we test what signal gives the sensor form the tank with the plug removed from it?? what signal it will gives with low fuel in the tank and what with normal fuel???
__________________

R1 2006 (SBK project)
markosaspiotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 09:56 AM   #107
markosaspiotis
Ride It Like You Stole It!
 
markosaspiotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Bikes: Aprilia SR 86cc BigBore, R1 06(SBK project), CRF450R SM 04
Location: Corfu/Greece
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebags View Post
Where does it get a temp from now?
i have done the same as Ben and redgecko!!! but iwas thinking if i can connect it to the OEM temperature valve... i tested it and nothing... incorrect signal!!!
__________________

R1 2006 (SBK project)
markosaspiotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 10:51 AM   #108
iGoldeneye
WERA? »\_(ツ)_/» #21
 
iGoldeneye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Bikes: 2012 Yamaha R1 Raven - 2006 Yamaha R1 50th Anniversary (sold)
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 2,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by markosaspiotis View Post
if we test what signal gives the sensor form the tank with the plug removed from it?? what signal it will gives with low fuel in the tank and what with normal fuel???
__________________

Thanks Uncle P!

WERA #21

View my MOD ADDICTED 2012 R1 build thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by bacchus40 View Post

Being a biker is not a welfare sport.
iGoldeneye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 07:15 AM   #109
Redgecko
I'm an Englishman in WI.
 
Redgecko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Bikes: 06 R1 ULE
Location: WI
Posts: 30,357
Well this is progressing well
__________________





Redgecko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 08:55 AM   #110
iGoldeneye
WERA? »\_(ツ)_/» #21
 
iGoldeneye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Bikes: 2012 Yamaha R1 Raven - 2006 Yamaha R1 50th Anniversary (sold)
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 2,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redgecko View Post
Well this is progressing well
[insert famous patience quote here]

At least we know a lot more than we did initially. A lot of the simple theories are now laid to rest now that you are hands on and testing. Thanks to SySt we have someone with expertise to execute a project plan that just might work. Hopefully my Translogic will be here soon and I can be more of a contributor once I rip my bike apart (still my daily commuter). The funny thing is, we aren't the only ones trying to accomplish this; but if we pull it off...


Sent from my iPhone using MO Free
__________________

Thanks Uncle P!

WERA #21

View my MOD ADDICTED 2012 R1 build thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by bacchus40 View Post

Being a biker is not a welfare sport.
iGoldeneye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 03:08 PM   #111
CARBONAR1
90% INDESTRUCTABLE
 
CARBONAR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Bikes: 06 R1R - 01 R1 hybrid - 06 Gixxer 1000 trackbike, 06 FZ6N - 96 FailBladder cadaver
Location: South Oz
Posts: 15,283
Quote:
Originally Posted by igoldeneye View Post

Ben-

Your bike is the new garage queen. Hop to it!

I'll let you in on a secret...the day before I crashed I recieved a tub of tank foam. If the fuel level is detected by a float, it's not going to work anyway....
__________________

FASTER AND FASTER 'TILL THE THRILL OF SPEED OVERCOMES THE FEAR OF DEATH

-HUNTER S. THOMPSON .................................................. ............................................sig by PETROL_SPICE
CARBONAR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 05:07 PM   #112
z064life
R1 Forum Star
 
z064life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Bikes: 2010 R1, 2009 Roadstar Silverado, 2005 GS500F (wife's SOLD), PW50 (with training wheels), 2008 R6 (Sold)
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 14,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by CARBONAR1 View Post
I'll let you in on a secret...the day before I crashed I recieved a tub of tank foam. If the fuel level is detected by a float, it's not going to work anyway....
I can confirm my fuel light on the AIM dash worked......until I added foam

I've since had to coast in twice
__________________
Hey Greenstreak, it's z064life lazy ass

Phantom Squadron XO - http://www.r1-forum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=50
z064life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 06:01 PM   #113
CARBONAR1
90% INDESTRUCTABLE
 
CARBONAR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Bikes: 06 R1R - 01 R1 hybrid - 06 Gixxer 1000 trackbike, 06 FZ6N - 96 FailBladder cadaver
Location: South Oz
Posts: 15,283
Quote:
Originally Posted by z064life View Post
I can confirm my fuel light on the AIM dash worked......until I added foam

I've since had to coast in twice
I suspected as much.
__________________

FASTER AND FASTER 'TILL THE THRILL OF SPEED OVERCOMES THE FEAR OF DEATH

-HUNTER S. THOMPSON .................................................. ............................................sig by PETROL_SPICE
CARBONAR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 06:49 PM   #114
z064life
R1 Forum Star
 
z064life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Bikes: 2010 R1, 2009 Roadstar Silverado, 2005 GS500F (wife's SOLD), PW50 (with training wheels), 2008 R6 (Sold)
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 14,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by CARBONAR1 View Post
I suspected as much.
At least I made it to or close to my pit both times....PJ tried to get next to me to give me a push on track
__________________
Hey Greenstreak, it's z064life lazy ass

Phantom Squadron XO - http://www.r1-forum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=50

Last edited by z064life; 08-26-2012 at 08:27 PM.
z064life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 04:06 PM   #115
iGoldeneye
WERA? »\_(ツ)_/» #21
 
iGoldeneye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Bikes: 2012 Yamaha R1 Raven - 2006 Yamaha R1 50th Anniversary (sold)
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 2,240
This a thread revival ladies... My Translogic is on the way
__________________

Thanks Uncle P!

WERA #21

View my MOD ADDICTED 2012 R1 build thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by bacchus40 View Post

Being a biker is not a welfare sport.
iGoldeneye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 06:36 PM   #116
CARBONAR1
90% INDESTRUCTABLE
 
CARBONAR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Bikes: 06 R1R - 01 R1 hybrid - 06 Gixxer 1000 trackbike, 06 FZ6N - 96 FailBladder cadaver
Location: South Oz
Posts: 15,283
Very cool.
__________________

FASTER AND FASTER 'TILL THE THRILL OF SPEED OVERCOMES THE FEAR OF DEATH

-HUNTER S. THOMPSON .................................................. ............................................sig by PETROL_SPICE
CARBONAR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 10:25 AM   #117
TopChef
Whats a chicken strip???
 
TopChef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Bikes: 2011 Black R1
Location: Torrance CA
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by iGoldeneye View Post
This a thread revival ladies... My Translogic is on the way
Be patient & you will get it all setup! If you have some basic electrical skills this is not a tough job at all. Finding the ignition coil wire was not easy for me. That is because I didn't know where to look though. After much appreciated help from Ben & Ian, I found it. You are going to need to put your bike on a dyno when you are finished with the installation so that your dash can be calibrated. That is one step I did not see coming. It is possible to do it while riding but it will not be as accurate not to mention it is hard to find a spot long enough to set all of the gears while maintaining a constant speed.

I sent you a pm with my phone number. Call me anytime & as many times as needed. I was blown away at how patient Ben & Ian were when I was installing mine so it's the least I can do to return the favor. I had a ton of questions & they continued to walk me through it until it was done. There were times when I expected them to say buzz off dude
__________________
http://i1038.photobucket.com/albums/.../Topchef-1.png
Sig by the one & only Petrol_Spice
TopChef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 03:02 PM   #118
iGoldeneye
WERA? »\_(ツ)_/» #21
 
iGoldeneye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Bikes: 2012 Yamaha R1 Raven - 2006 Yamaha R1 50th Anniversary (sold)
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 2,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by TopChef View Post
Be patient & you will get it all setup! If you have some basic electrical skills this is not a tough job at all. Finding the ignition coil wire was not easy for me. That is because I didn't know where to look though. After much appreciated help from Ben & Ian, I found it. You are going to need to put your bike on a dyno when you are finished with the installation so that your dash can be calibrated. That is one step I did not see coming. It is possible to do it while riding but it will not be as accurate not to mention it is hard to find a spot long enough to set all of the gears while maintaining a constant speed.

I sent you a pm with my phone number. Call me anytime & as many times as needed. I was blown away at how patient Ben & Ian were when I was installing mine so it's the least I can do to return the favor. I had a ton of questions & they continued to walk me through it until it was done. There were times when I expected them to say buzz off dude
Thank you sir! I just got your PM and I will be contacting you! This looks like one of those projects that could go a lot smoother with someone who has already been there, done that. I might just get fancy and do a 09-13 Translogic Install How-To

I read in a 2006 thread that a forum member utilized the oil pressure indicator for a low fuel indicator- Has anyone confirmed this to work?
__________________

Thanks Uncle P!

WERA #21

View my MOD ADDICTED 2012 R1 build thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by bacchus40 View Post

Being a biker is not a welfare sport.
iGoldeneye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 04:50 AM   #119
Al3x
I eat my R1
 
Al3x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Bikes: 99 R1
Location: Norfolk, England
Posts: 189
Sent from my GT-I9300 using Motorcycle.com Free App
__________________
If you cant win...... Don't try.
http://www.danasoft.com/vipersig.jpg
Al3x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 04:03 PM   #120
4yamahas
Lifetime Premium Member
 
4yamahas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Bikes: 01R6 , 06R6
Location: N.C.
Posts: 763
I put a microdash on an 01R6 about 7 years ago . Never pursued getting the fuel guage to work but it sounds like it may be possible .
The dash I have has a fuel indicator , but it has to be set based on mileage . It was more trouble than it was worth . I just keep an eye on odometer and look in the tank like a dirt bike .
4yamahas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Translogic micro dash install help andy_dea Appearance & Mods 38 01-08-2012 10:25 AM
help with translogic dash install and er 1 2 slick+r1=glory Mechanical / Help 0 03-25-2011 03:52 AM
Translogic Micro Dash? nobody General Motorcycle Discussions 3 10-31-2006 01:06 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:34 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum
R1-Forum.com is an independent Yamaha enthusiast website. Content on R1-Forum.com is generated by its users and R1-Forum.com is not in any way affiliated with Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.