Should I buy an 07 if the ecu still lags : Yamaha R1 Forum
» Insurance
» Yamaha R1 Prices
» Sponsors

General Motorcycle Discussions Any general discussions related to Motorcycles goes in here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2012, 07:34 AM   #1
Eric08
My R1 eats me.
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 17
Should I buy an 07 if the ecu still lags

Should I buy an 07 if the ecu has not been replaced. Can I still get it replaced for free?
Eric08 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-03-2012, 04:06 PM   #2
Tad158
Astronomer not Astrologer
 
Tad158's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Bikes: 09 R1, 78 CB750K8
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 7,234
Or you could flash it, it will update the software in the ECU to the 08.....along with all the other benefits to the flash...
__________________
Venom Squadron
#158
2009 Raven R1
Mods: Custom Fender Eliminator, Custom Rear Reservoir Bracket, Custom Clutch Sliders, Spiegler Rennsport SS Front/Rear Brake Lines, Driven Clip-ons, Spider Peak Grips, Zero Gravity Light Smoke Double Bubble Windscreen, M4 Y-Pipe, Vance and Hines CS One cans, Shogun No-Cut Sliders, F-T custom image with Bazzaz QS sensor, Ferodo ST HH Front Pads, RaceDAC Data Logger, RaceTech Springs, F1Composites track bodywork.
Build Thread

Flash-Tune FAQ Thread
Tad158 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 04:14 PM   #3
bacchus40
kickin' at the darkness
 
bacchus40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Bikes: 2005 RAVEN R6, sold; PEARL WHITE 2009 YZF R1 ~ rip, CADMIUM YELLOW 2009 YZF-R1!
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 6,442
yup... ecuNleash that mofo!..
__________________

2009 YZF-R1 xPlanker

DJ PCV, AT200 & POD300, Leo Vince EVOII SBK/ARROW SS HEADER, GRAVES STACKS & AIS, GYTR, ECUnleashed, SHORAI, YOYODYNE sc, HINSON bskt, EBC SRK, ASV clutch perch, RK520, JT 15T/44T, Lithtech chain adjust, ANNITORI RL
CLEVER WOLF CF, RIZOMA grips, APEX risers, CRG Arrows, GYTR seat, SHOGUN sliders, GBR covers, GYTR db, Watsens, 6000k HID, RACETECH springs, RACETECH G3-LD, OHLINs FPK, CL SBK5/RX3, HEL SS lines, Accossato Radial 19x18,
bacchus40 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 04:27 PM   #4
toysareforboys
My R1 eats me.
 
toysareforboys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Bikes: 07 R1, flash-tune'd
Location: Whitby, Ontario, Kanada
Posts: 1,914
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric08 View Post
Should I buy an 07 if the ecu has not been replaced. Can I still get it replaced for free?
For sure! Send your ECU over to OhioYJ on the R6 forum and he'll flash it and update it for free

-Jamie M.
toysareforboys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 09:21 PM   #5
Wings of gold
My R1 feeds me
 
Wings of gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Bikes: 07, silver bullet
Location: Kanada
Posts: 390
Im not 100% sure but I think you can get yourself a power commander3 or 5 and get it tuned at a shop and you will be good to go as well

(someone could possibly confirm this to be true? )
Wings of gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 09:30 PM   #6
Tad158
Astronomer not Astrologer
 
Tad158's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Bikes: 09 R1, 78 CB750K8
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 7,234
, there was some kind of bug in the ETV map part of the ECU in a certain number of 07 ECUs. They replaced or reflashed them to fix this issue....
__________________
Venom Squadron
#158
2009 Raven R1
Mods: Custom Fender Eliminator, Custom Rear Reservoir Bracket, Custom Clutch Sliders, Spiegler Rennsport SS Front/Rear Brake Lines, Driven Clip-ons, Spider Peak Grips, Zero Gravity Light Smoke Double Bubble Windscreen, M4 Y-Pipe, Vance and Hines CS One cans, Shogun No-Cut Sliders, F-T custom image with Bazzaz QS sensor, Ferodo ST HH Front Pads, RaceDAC Data Logger, RaceTech Springs, F1Composites track bodywork.
Build Thread

Flash-Tune FAQ Thread
Tad158 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 09:37 PM   #7
Wings of gold
My R1 feeds me
 
Wings of gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Bikes: 07, silver bullet
Location: Kanada
Posts: 390
ah man :/, well I have yet to try the 5500rpm/full throttle but I've never noticed any lag so far in the bike. hopefully it will stay that way.

OP, buy it ! you will not regret it, its ( imo ) the best looking year model and a helluva good ride like any bike its not perfect but you will not be disappointed
Wings of gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 09:45 PM   #8
Tad158
Astronomer not Astrologer
 
Tad158's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Bikes: 09 R1, 78 CB750K8
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 7,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wings of gold View Post
ah man :/, well I have yet to try the 5500rpm/full throttle but I've never noticed any lag so far in the bike. hopefully it will stay that way.

OP, buy it ! you will not regret it, its ( imo ) the best looking year model and a helluva good ride like any bike its not perfect but you will not be disappointed
You may have gotten an 07 with a fixed ECU, I think it was an issue with the early 07's....
__________________
Venom Squadron
#158
2009 Raven R1
Mods: Custom Fender Eliminator, Custom Rear Reservoir Bracket, Custom Clutch Sliders, Spiegler Rennsport SS Front/Rear Brake Lines, Driven Clip-ons, Spider Peak Grips, Zero Gravity Light Smoke Double Bubble Windscreen, M4 Y-Pipe, Vance and Hines CS One cans, Shogun No-Cut Sliders, F-T custom image with Bazzaz QS sensor, Ferodo ST HH Front Pads, RaceDAC Data Logger, RaceTech Springs, F1Composites track bodywork.
Build Thread

Flash-Tune FAQ Thread
Tad158 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 07:19 AM   #9
Wings of gold
My R1 feeds me
 
Wings of gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Bikes: 07, silver bullet
Location: Kanada
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tad158 View Post
You may have gotten an 07 with a fixed ECU, I think it was an issue with the early 07's....
Would be nice, I got the bike second hand from the original owner, a bike closer to showroom floor I have yet to see,(family man, almost never road it) but its an 02/07 production date model, the one that also should have the bad valves according to some XD

Im not making a strong argument for Op here to buy an 07 model trolololol
but again, one of the best looking bikes you will ride, like seriously the thing looks and rides like a jet fighter who would't want to ride a jet fighter

Last edited by Wings of gold; 11-04-2012 at 07:19 AM. Reason: original owner*
Wings of gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 09:52 AM   #10
Lex2go
Never be afraid to slow down!
 
Lex2go's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Bikes: '07 R1 & '13 1199S
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 535
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tad158 View Post
Or you could flash it, it will update the software in the ECU to the 08.....along with all the other benefits to the flash...
I flashed mine and no laggy anymore!
Lex2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 05:10 AM   #11
Eric08
My R1 eats me.
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 17
I bought the bike and it does have the 5500 rpm 2nd gear lag. Will yamaha still grant swapping out the ecu if I talk to the dealer. The dealer I talked to said they remember this issue from before.

In regards to the claim of the early years with the bad valves, 02/07. I beleive mine is in this range also. How creadible is this claim? Was there a bad batch of these bikes early in production?
Eric08 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 05:26 AM   #12
Wings of gold
My R1 feeds me
 
Wings of gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Bikes: 07, silver bullet
Location: Kanada
Posts: 390
grats on the bike ! not a bad bike batch but a bad valve batch from what I could read on the net. Im having mine changed in the spring regardless what they look like once I open it up. When you go to the dealer for your ecu ask them if they will check the valves for you, if not there are plenty of how too's here for you to do it at home.
Wings of gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 01:00 PM   #13
tnole23
go go juice gonna make me win
 
tnole23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Bikes: 2008 R1 Raven
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 1,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric08 View Post
I bought the bike and it does have the 5500 rpm 2nd gear lag. Will yamaha still grant swapping out the ecu if I talk to the dealer. The dealer I talked to said they remember this issue from before.

In regards to the claim of the early years with the bad valves, 02/07. I beleive mine is in this range also. How creadible is this claim? Was there a bad batch of these bikes early in production?
no. yamaha really cheaped out and offered a limited replacement, like a year or something. they never declared a recall, which was the loophole.

if reflashing fixes it, then def do that. pc won't help. reflashing is good stuff anyway.

don't know any issues with valves. if you're talking about the tick, it's normal.
__________________
FlashTune w/dyno fuel map|RaceTech Suspension|Termignoni CF Slipons|Attack Performance Rearsets|Brembo 19 RCS MC|Renthal Clipons|Dano QS|Akrapovic Y-Pipe|520 (-1/+1)|Hyperpro Damper|BlasterX|MRA Racing DB|Gilles Chain Adjuster| MotionPro Throttle|BMC Air Filter|Graves Smog Plates|GYTR Comfort Seat|Targa Solo Cowl|Tec-Spec Traction Pads|Pazzo Shorties|GB Racing Covers|Spiegler SS Brake Lines| HIDs|Flushmounts|Gear Indicator|Sharkskinz Track Bodywork
tnole23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 01:12 PM   #14
Garrett04
I eat my R1
 
Garrett04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Bikes: 07 R1
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 220
Actually yes you can still get it replaced. You just need to go to a Yamaha dealer mention the technical bulletin, have them get on the phone with yamaha, and they will swap it. I got mine replaced a few months ago. I bought an 07 R1 w/ 6400 miles on it and found that it experienced the issue, and went the route I stated. There is a thread on here somewhere too, just search for it. Has the technical bulletin and all. With some tips from others if you get a dealer who is slightly retarded and needs some pushing in the right direction.
Garrett04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 01:15 PM   #15
tnole23
go go juice gonna make me win
 
tnole23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Bikes: 2008 R1 Raven
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 1,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garrett04 View Post
Actually yes you can still get it replaced. You just need to go to a Yamaha dealer mention the technical bulletin, have them get on the phone with yamaha, and they will swap it. I got mine replaced a few months ago. I bought an 07 R1 w/ 6400 miles on it and found that it experienced the issue, and went the route I stated. There is a thread on here somewhere too, just search for it. Has the technical bulletin and all. With some tips from others if you get a dealer who is slightly retarded and needs some pushing in the right direction.
awesome, that's good. i know the thread you're referring to, and there is where it said they didn't. which is y i ended up with an 08 and not an 07. if u can find a dealer to hook u up then that's awesome. since he already has the bike it's worth a shot, for sure. or if they changed it from when it was, well, then obviously.
__________________
FlashTune w/dyno fuel map|RaceTech Suspension|Termignoni CF Slipons|Attack Performance Rearsets|Brembo 19 RCS MC|Renthal Clipons|Dano QS|Akrapovic Y-Pipe|520 (-1/+1)|Hyperpro Damper|BlasterX|MRA Racing DB|Gilles Chain Adjuster| MotionPro Throttle|BMC Air Filter|Graves Smog Plates|GYTR Comfort Seat|Targa Solo Cowl|Tec-Spec Traction Pads|Pazzo Shorties|GB Racing Covers|Spiegler SS Brake Lines| HIDs|Flushmounts|Gear Indicator|Sharkskinz Track Bodywork

Last edited by tnole23; 11-05-2012 at 01:22 PM.
tnole23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:54 PM   #16
r1crystal
Ayo Flocka!
 
r1crystal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Bikes: 2008 R1
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 259
Take it to any yamaha dealer and they will still replace it under warranty. I just did it earlier this year on my '07. They just need to be able to replicate the problem at the shop. Took the guy a couple times but he felt it and that was that.
r1crystal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:10 AM   #17
Eric08
My R1 eats me.
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 17
In regards to the number four intake valve seeming to be the one of most popular failure, I can only hear mostly a ticking noise on the clutch side of the bike rather than on the throttle side when listening to the head. Is this normal?

Also, when I jump on the gas in low rpms the bike sounds like it has a weird vibration and noise or something. This happens in situations when rpm is below 4k.

Could this be due to my chain being too tight? because it is and I havent gotten around to loosening it yet. Or the clutch, at a low rpm like this?

Thank You
Eric08 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 10:55 AM   #18
r1crystal
Ayo Flocka!
 
r1crystal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Bikes: 2008 R1
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric08 View Post

Also, when I jump on the gas in low rpms the bike sounds like it has a weird vibration and noise or something. This happens in situations when rpm is below 4k.

Could this be due to my chain being too tight? because it is and I havent gotten around to loosening it yet. Or the clutch, at a low rpm like this?

Thank You
That is the get your ass above 4k sound. I've had two 07/08 R1's and they both do that. Just the engine struggling with the amount of throttle you are giving her at such a low RPM. Not built for that!
r1crystal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 12:54 PM   #19
Eric08
My R1 eats me.
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by r1crystal View Post
That is the get your ass above 4k sound. I've had two 07/08 R1's and they both do that. Just the engine struggling with the amount of throttle you are giving her at such a low RPM. Not built for that!
Nice. Do you have any comments on the ticking mostly being on the clutch side of the bike? Is that the #4 cylinder side? Ive been reading that its usually the #4 intake valve that seems to wear out and/or drop.
Eric08 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 01:08 PM   #20
Wings of gold
My R1 feeds me
 
Wings of gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Bikes: 07, silver bullet
Location: Kanada
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tad158 View Post
You may have gotten an 07 with a fixed ECU, I think it was an issue with the early 07's....


...I tried it this morning, steady at 5500, full throttle
Wings of gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:31 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum
R1-Forum.com is an independent Yamaha enthusiast website. Content on R1-Forum.com is generated by its users and R1-Forum.com is not in any way affiliated with Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.