07 Changed front & rear sprockets. : Yamaha R1 Forum
» Insurance
» Yamaha R1 Prices
» Sponsors

Mechanical / Help This area to for help in the areas of, engine, carbs, transmission, suspension, mounting etc

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2012, 10:50 AM   #1
rider18
Just made this great wheelie.. did you see it?!
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 48
07 Changed front & rear sprockets.

Hello,
I changed my front and rear sprockets to -1/+2. The acceleration feels great. But I also knew that my speedometer would go off. I had my friend ride at 60mph on his bike next to me, when his showed 60mph, mine showed 67mph.

I wanted to know if getting a speedohealer would be more worth/efficient or getting ECU flash? By the way, would ECU flash solve this issue? If it does I dont mind doing the ECU flash cause there are more benefits to it.

Thank you all in advance.
rider18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-12-2012, 11:17 AM   #2
RayJohns
2005 Yamaha R1
 
RayJohns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Bikes: 2005 R1
Location: California
Posts: 1,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by rider18 View Post
Hello,
I changed my front and rear sprockets to -1/+2. The acceleration feels great. But I also knew that my speedometer would go off. I had my friend ride at 60mph on his bike next to me, when his showed 60mph, mine showed 67mph.

I wanted to know if getting a speedohealer would be more worth/efficient or getting ECU flash? By the way, would ECU flash solve this issue? If it does I dont mind doing the ECU flash cause there are more benefits to it.

Thank you all in advance.
Speedohealer is what you want.

It's a pretty easy install and very easy to adjust later if you need to change tire sizes or sprockets, etc. I have one on my bike and it works great. There's also a handy "recall" function that will show you your most recent top speed. It can be reset with a push button.

On my bike, I wired the horn relay into a micro relay that accomplishes the "push button" part - so I can push the horn button and see my most recent top speed while riding (hold it for 3 seconds to clear).

If you have a GPS, you can calibrate your bike's speed using that (once you have the speedohealer installed). You can also use the formula they supply and get within 1 MPH +/- per 100 MPH or so.

I definitely would not reflash the ECU. It's much better to get the speedohealer and install it. It's basically a plug and play and then you have a means to adjust from then on.

Ray

Last edited by RayJohns; 11-12-2012 at 11:19 AM.
RayJohns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 03:45 PM   #3
headshake1
Lean Junky
 
headshake1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Bikes: 08 R1 - Black
Posts: 435
I recently did the same thing and have a Speedohealer V4 on it's way as we speak. I like the fact that it can store 2 settings, (I think it's only 2) so you can basically switch back and forth to adjust for things like rear tire profile changes with the push of a button. Their website also has a great application that generates a calibration code for the unit based on parameters such as make/manu, tire and sprocket size. And the install is a simple process of plugging in one end of the unit into your speed sensor wire harness and then running the wire through to the tail section and plugging the other end into the speedohealer unit itself and velcroing it down under the tail somewhere for convenient access. What can be more easy than that?
headshake1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 04:37 PM   #4
graphitegripper
I eat my R1
 
graphitegripper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Bikes: Dark Silver 07 R1
Location: Destin, FL
Posts: 380
Drd speed healer is only 70$ and love it does same thing speed recall etc. set it and leave it. Flash tune you can adjust it within the tune but its not accurate just by typing in gear sizes due to factory error. But def encourage you to reflash it. Send it my way if you wish I have the 07-08 interface will really wake that beast up


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com App
__________________
2007 R1, BMC filter, NGK plugs, Stock cans with A&R baffles, Mivv Y pipe, -1F/+2R sprockets, Flash Tune interface, Zero Gravity Corsa windscreen, 35w 8000k HIDs, 520 EK chain
graphitegripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:18 PM   #5
rider18
Just made this great wheelie.. did you see it?!
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 48
Thanks for the inputs. I am trying to keep minimum devices on the back of my bike. I already have a PC5. Even after a proper flash I wont get the correct speed readings? I dont mind flashing it.

graphitemaker, sending you a PM
rider18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:37 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum
R1-Forum.com is an independent Yamaha enthusiast website. Content on R1-Forum.com is generated by its users and R1-Forum.com is not in any way affiliated with Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.