FlashTune ECU Flashing Interface - Page 241 : Yamaha R1 Forum
» Insurance
» Yamaha R1 Prices
» Sponsors

Appearance & Mods Looks is important. Ask here for help on, flushmounts, undertails, bodywork, exhaust models etc

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2012, 11:04 AM   #4801
SySt
I eat my R1
 
Join Date: May 2008
Bikes: 2007 R1
Posts: 800
I've got two things to bring up:

First is that I think some sort of two-step rev limiter would be an awesome next feature. It could be controlled by the clutch switch (not sure if that signal goes to the ECU) or perhaps the limiter would simply be active while the bike is not "in gear". "In gear" being defined as engaged in a gear with no/minimal clutch slip. I guess I'd like to see what Flashtune could come up with, but I would be against any sort of button or switch that would require additional use of the hands.

Secondly, I think we really need to agree on a terminology regarding maps. Because currently, and as Flashtune defines it, a "map" contains "maps" and that is somewhat confusing. There is a YCCT map, idle map, fuel maps, quickshifter maps and ignition maps all within what Flashtune calls a map. I think we need to refer to the "Flashtune map" as an ECU image or something like that. All other maps must be referred to as their type, for example "ignition map" or "TPS vs RPM (Alpha-N) fuel map". Perhaps we should try to get Flashtune to change the terminology in their software.

Tad, you seem to be in contact with the Flashtune guys pretty frequently. Perhaps you can be an "ambassador" for us.
SySt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-02-2012, 01:17 PM   #4802
vcyclenut
me r1 to eats P***y
 
vcyclenut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Bikes: 2012 r1 anniversary #141 2014 fz-09
Location: cape coral florida
Posts: 3,281
does anyone know how we disable the o2 sensor now that the crossover point is not adjustable on the newer updates

and is there anyway to disable the velocity stacks if you put fixed stacks on??
__________________
<a href=http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h179/vcyclenut/sigpic7024_1.gif target=_blank>http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h1...gpic7024_1.gif</a>
vcyclenut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 02:02 PM   #4803
Raven1Actual
I eat my R1
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 316
This POS won't flash my ECU anymore. I updated to the newest version and it will get to 100% of the ETV flash but fails to connect when it attempts to write the FI side. Anyone else experience this?

Update: I tried flashing it with their new "flash etv only" "flash fi only" and it worked. Go figure.
__________________
2008 "Raven" - Mostly stock: -1, gutted cat, SS brake lines, flash tuned, and fast as hell

Last edited by Raven1Actual; 12-02-2012 at 02:44 PM.
Raven1Actual is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 09:25 PM   #4804
Tad158
Astronomer not Astrologer
 
Tad158's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Bikes: 09 R1, 78 CB750K8
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 7,346
Sorry guys I have been on travel this week, so I have been a little slower to respond.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SySt View Post
I've got two things to bring up:

First is that I think some sort of two-step rev limiter would be an awesome next feature. It could be controlled by the clutch switch (not sure if that signal goes to the ECU) or perhaps the limiter would simply be active while the bike is not "in gear". "In gear" being defined as engaged in a gear with no/minimal clutch slip. I guess I'd like to see what Flashtune could come up with, but I would be against any sort of button or switch that would require additional use of the hands.

Secondly, I think we really need to agree on a terminology regarding maps. Because currently, and as Flashtune defines it, a "map" contains "maps" and that is somewhat confusing. There is a YCCT map, idle map, fuel maps, quickshifter maps and ignition maps all within what Flashtune calls a map. I think we need to refer to the "Flashtune map" as an ECU image or something like that. All other maps must be referred to as their type, for example "ignition map" or "TPS vs RPM (Alpha-N) fuel map". Perhaps we should try to get Flashtune to change the terminology in their software.

Tad, you seem to be in contact with the Flashtune guys pretty frequently. Perhaps you can be an "ambassador" for us.
First point, send them an email, I think this thread has fallen off their radar for some reason. I will also request the feature. We can take the squeaky wheel approach. At some level the same goes for the second. I will add that terminaology to the FAQ (give me a few days as I am still pretty busy at work and home this week and next), and I support this convention, though you know what they say about old habits.

To be honest, I just send F-T emails, and they respond to them. Some times it takes a few days, but they usually get answered.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vcyclenut View Post
does anyone know how we disable the o2 sensor now that the crossover point is not adjustable on the newer updates

and is there anyway to disable the velocity stacks if you put fixed stacks on??
What do you mean you can not change the load bias setting? ...You do know that they changed it from a slider to a drop down box just above the speed adjustment?

One way to do it is to simply change it to an RPM that is above the rev limter, aka an RPM that the engine will never get to?

Does this help you VC?
__________________
Venom Squadron
#158
2009 Raven R1
Mods: Custom Fender Eliminator, Custom Rear Reservoir Bracket, Custom Clutch Sliders, Spiegler Rennsport SS Front/Rear Brake Lines, Driven Clip-ons, Spider Peak Grips, Zero Gravity Light Smoke Double Bubble Windscreen, M4 Y-Pipe, Vance and Hines CS One cans, Shogun No-Cut Sliders, F-T custom image with Bazzaz QS sensor, Ferodo ST HH Front Pads, RaceDAC Data Logger, RaceTech Springs, F1Composites track bodywork.
Build Thread

Flash-Tune FAQ Thread
Tad158 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 09:54 PM   #4805
vcyclenut
me r1 to eats P***y
 
vcyclenut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Bikes: 2012 r1 anniversary #141 2014 fz-09
Location: cape coral florida
Posts: 3,281
What do you mean you can not change the load bias setting? ...You do know that they changed it from a slider to a drop down box just above the speed adjustment? wow i didnt realize this

One way to do it is to simply change it to an RPM that is above the rev limter, aka an RPM that the engine will never get to?yea that was my plan,

Does this help you VC?yep thanks very much
__________________
<a href=http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h179/vcyclenut/sigpic7024_1.gif target=_blank>http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h1...gpic7024_1.gif</a>
vcyclenut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 10:13 PM   #4806
AKDMA
I eat my R1
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 2011 Raven R1
Location: WNC
Posts: 1,712
Does anyone know what the stock velocity stack switching point RPM for the crossplane is? I remember Jett and Garage Endeavors claimed they "optimized" this with the OEM stacks. I wonder if they used 10,500.
AKDMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:32 AM   #4807
indianfighter
I eat my R1
 
indianfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Bikes: 2011 R1
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 142
Yes starting a new thread for map development would be a good idea. I have reached page 181 of thsi thread so far and all I have is peen's v2 and n4speed's map from old. I don't know if there have been any new maps since then. I don't know when I will be able to finish reading the entire thread.
__________________
IndianFighter
2011 white R1
indianfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:22 AM   #4808
indianfighter
I eat my R1
 
indianfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Bikes: 2011 R1
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAGI View Post
You will boooom your engine. I will open the Peen map and will edit the ignition map for you. Waiting 1-2days.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAGI View Post
You can flash this map, it have the stock ignition values on the high revs and up 50% throttle.


Also, it have a lower engine braking at high revs.
Thanks Jagi, dunno how I missed this earlier

Stock ignition settings above 50% throttle and higher revs? I don't need stock ignition timing on lower revs?

Is engine braking linked with ignition timing, is that why you have edited that too?
__________________
IndianFighter
2011 white R1
indianfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:39 AM   #4809
indianfighter
I eat my R1
 
indianfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Bikes: 2011 R1
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by R1evolution View Post
ok run the new map i updated. he has it in his signature or send me a pm with your mail addy and ill send it to you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKDMA View Post
The old one or today's?

Sent from my SCH-R530U using Motorcycle.com Free App
Ummm, where is n4speed's modified map?

Guys, we need to have some proper organisation for finding all these development maps. Sifting through 250+ pages to find a map needs balls of steel.
__________________
IndianFighter
2011 white R1
indianfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:02 AM   #4810
R1evolution
I eat my R1
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 12 R1
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by indianfighter View Post
Ummm, where is n4speed's modified map?

Guys, we need to have some proper organisation for finding all these development maps. Sifting through 250+ pages to find a map needs balls of steel.
the map that N4speed and i worked on isnt published.
__________________
Two Bro's Slip on with y pipe. Flash tune on 91 crap gas. smoke screen, cant wait to do more
R1evolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:32 PM   #4811
marshdrummer
Lucky 13 X/O
 
marshdrummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Bikes: 2011 R1
Location: CT
Posts: 1,087
Question (because I can't find the definitive answer). If I get the interface, can flash a 2011 AND a 2012 with the interface and software? thanks in advance!
__________________
Lucky 13th Squadron C/O
#69

LRRS AM
RSP Racing #920
Sponsors: Pirelli, Tony's trackdays, Motorcycle Tires and Gear, Dyno Solutions, Sportbike Track Gear, Knox, Woodcraft, 434racer.com
marshdrummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:07 PM   #4812
R1evolution
I eat my R1
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 12 R1
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by marshdrummer View Post
Question (because I can't find the definitive answer). If I get the interface, can flash a 2011 AND a 2012 with the interface and software? thanks in advance!
get the 12 version and you can flash the 9-11 also
__________________
Two Bro's Slip on with y pipe. Flash tune on 91 crap gas. smoke screen, cant wait to do more
R1evolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:31 PM   #4813
marshdrummer
Lucky 13 X/O
 
marshdrummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Bikes: 2011 R1
Location: CT
Posts: 1,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by R1evolution View Post
get the 12 version and you can flash the 9-11 also
Thank you sir....
__________________
Lucky 13th Squadron C/O
#69

LRRS AM
RSP Racing #920
Sponsors: Pirelli, Tony's trackdays, Motorcycle Tires and Gear, Dyno Solutions, Sportbike Track Gear, Knox, Woodcraft, 434racer.com
marshdrummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:32 PM   #4814
AKDMA
I eat my R1
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 2011 Raven R1
Location: WNC
Posts: 1,712
The 09-11 (2.2) version also works on 12. I've used mine on a friend's 2012. BTW, I think I'm going to switch permanently to the 100/20 engine braking setting, it's very consistent and still a hefty reduction over stock.
AKDMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 07:30 PM   #4815
Tad158
Astronomer not Astrologer
 
Tad158's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Bikes: 09 R1, 78 CB750K8
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 7,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKDMA View Post
The 09-11 (2.2) version also works on 12. I've used mine on a friend's 2012. BTW, I think I'm going to switch permanently to the 100/20 engine braking setting, it's very consistent and still a hefty reduction over stock.
The 2.2 version is the 09+ version. The original 09-11 version (the one that I have) is the 2.1 version of the interface. I still believe that this version cannot flash 12+...., I have not tired. I will ask F-T.
__________________
Venom Squadron
#158
2009 Raven R1
Mods: Custom Fender Eliminator, Custom Rear Reservoir Bracket, Custom Clutch Sliders, Spiegler Rennsport SS Front/Rear Brake Lines, Driven Clip-ons, Spider Peak Grips, Zero Gravity Light Smoke Double Bubble Windscreen, M4 Y-Pipe, Vance and Hines CS One cans, Shogun No-Cut Sliders, F-T custom image with Bazzaz QS sensor, Ferodo ST HH Front Pads, RaceDAC Data Logger, RaceTech Springs, F1Composites track bodywork.
Build Thread

Flash-Tune FAQ Thread
Tad158 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 07:33 PM   #4816
AKDMA
I eat my R1
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 2011 Raven R1
Location: WNC
Posts: 1,712
Thanks for the clarification. So they have three crossplane interfaces? 2.1, 2.2 and 2.2.x?
AKDMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 07:34 PM   #4817
Tad158
Astronomer not Astrologer
 
Tad158's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Bikes: 09 R1, 78 CB750K8
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 7,346
...I have the 2.1.....it was the one they made before they came up with the one that would also the the 12+...the 1.x does the 07-08.
__________________
Venom Squadron
#158
2009 Raven R1
Mods: Custom Fender Eliminator, Custom Rear Reservoir Bracket, Custom Clutch Sliders, Spiegler Rennsport SS Front/Rear Brake Lines, Driven Clip-ons, Spider Peak Grips, Zero Gravity Light Smoke Double Bubble Windscreen, M4 Y-Pipe, Vance and Hines CS One cans, Shogun No-Cut Sliders, F-T custom image with Bazzaz QS sensor, Ferodo ST HH Front Pads, RaceDAC Data Logger, RaceTech Springs, F1Composites track bodywork.
Build Thread

Flash-Tune FAQ Thread
Tad158 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:05 PM   #4818
Storm Trooper
My R1 Makes me Horny!
 
Storm Trooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Bikes: 07 Sold, Beautiful New, Blue 2010 R1
Location: The Universe but mostly vacation in Miami
Posts: 1,720
Can someone tell me why my FT may not be working? I was at the track on Friday and tryed more than several times to flash the ECU with no success. It kept giving me a connecting error and I did have the computer (charging) plugged in.

Also is there any new Latest/ Greatest map for a 2010 +/- with a full Akra, filter and Bazzaz that anyone has posted?
__________________
STORM


UNBELIVABLE SIG WORK COURTESY OF PETROL_SPICE!

"People will ALWAYS be MORE impressed with the Power of our Example,
then the Example of our Power!
"
- Bill Clinton 08/27/08



Kickin Track Videos:
PBIR: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=gWBFjaXx4Pc

Homestead 1 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WfRS8EErMlU
2 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e6S0Q3-rP5g
Storm Trooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:10 PM   #4819
Tad158
Astronomer not Astrologer
 
Tad158's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Bikes: 09 R1, 78 CB750K8
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 7,346
Were you sure that you had a good 12V supply hooked up? That is the only time i get flashing errors...ie I forget to plug in the 12 power brick....

Also, does it work at home. If you were powering it off a generator, it could not be supplying it with a clean enough AC signal to generate the 12V DC (if you were using a wall mount power supply)...
__________________
Venom Squadron
#158
2009 Raven R1
Mods: Custom Fender Eliminator, Custom Rear Reservoir Bracket, Custom Clutch Sliders, Spiegler Rennsport SS Front/Rear Brake Lines, Driven Clip-ons, Spider Peak Grips, Zero Gravity Light Smoke Double Bubble Windscreen, M4 Y-Pipe, Vance and Hines CS One cans, Shogun No-Cut Sliders, F-T custom image with Bazzaz QS sensor, Ferodo ST HH Front Pads, RaceDAC Data Logger, RaceTech Springs, F1Composites track bodywork.
Build Thread

Flash-Tune FAQ Thread
Tad158 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:28 PM   #4820
Storm Trooper
My R1 Makes me Horny!
 
Storm Trooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Bikes: 07 Sold, Beautiful New, Blue 2010 R1
Location: The Universe but mostly vacation in Miami
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tad158 View Post
Were you sure that you had a good 12V supply hooked up? That is the only time i get flashing errors...ie I forget to plug in the 12 power brick....

Also, does it work at home. If you were powering it off a generator, it could not be supplying it with a clean enough AC signal to generate the 12V DC (if you were using a wall mount power supply)...
Yup, I checked it several times. I haven't tryed it from home since nor in quite a while but I will this week.
__________________
STORM


UNBELIVABLE SIG WORK COURTESY OF PETROL_SPICE!

"People will ALWAYS be MORE impressed with the Power of our Example,
then the Example of our Power!
"
- Bill Clinton 08/27/08



Kickin Track Videos:
PBIR: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=gWBFjaXx4Pc

Homestead 1 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WfRS8EErMlU
2 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e6S0Q3-rP5g
Storm Trooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ecuunleashed 0r flashtune vtwin Appearance & Mods 61 11-16-2014 07:37 PM
Flashtune ECU Dyno Results sirjag Appearance & Mods 183 03-30-2014 05:08 PM
Flashtune reflash 07-08 R1 bwash85 Appearance & Mods 171 06-22-2012 07:48 AM
flashtune VS ecuunleashed vtwin Mechanical / Help 3 03-17-2012 12:50 AM
Yec Cable Interface BERNY Bikes/Parts Wanted 0 03-19-2010 12:58 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:06 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Forum Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum Kawasaki Ninja 250SL Forum
R1-Forum.com is an independent Yamaha enthusiast website. Content on R1-Forum.com is generated by its users and R1-Forum.com is not in any way affiliated with Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.