Noob with a chain and sprocket : Yamaha R1 Forum
» Insurance
» Yamaha R1 Prices
» Sponsors

Appearance & Mods Looks is important. Ask here for help on, flushmounts, undertails, bodywork, exhaust models etc

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2012, 08:30 PM   #1
NicholasRomano
I eat my R1
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 04 R1
Location: NJ
Posts: 165
Noob with a chain and sprocket

A small background, I know little to nothing about motorcycles. The R1 was my first, and it's been an absolutely wonderful learning experience. I've found this forum to be incredibly helpful, and for that I thank every one of you. But now, if you don't mind, I have a couple questions I am hoping you guys may be able to help me on.

So today I finally got my chain kit(Thanks Motomummy!), I was in dire need of a chain, mine was rusty as can be, and starting to lock up a little. I was able to get the back tire off with ease, install some Gilles chain adjusters(once again thanks to the wonderful members here), once again with ease... But now for the problem... I have no idea how to get to the front sprocket? Do I remove the shifter rod(if that is even the appropriate name)? I was having a hell of a time attempting to, to the point I was afraid something would break, so I stopped.

And as for my second question, does anyone know where I can get my new chain broken down to the correct size? I am in Northern NJ, and don't mind a bit of a ride. I foolishly didn't purchase a chain breaker, and don't really have access to any power tools to attempt to do it any other way. Also, it came with a master link, but I've been hearing more about riveting the link back on, is this more effective? Is it something I should worry about as a casual rider?

Any info or tips you guys have would be wonderful. Once again I absolutely love this forum. Here's a few picks of her taken apart, with some of her goodies. Don't judge me to much, before this I couldn't even take apart a bicycle. Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMO Free1354681775.849073.jpg
Views:	137
Size:	65.8 KB
ID:	478084Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMO Free1354681785.631392.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	66.9 KB
ID:	478085Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMO Free1354681800.832070.jpg
Views:	142
Size:	66.4 KB
ID:	478086


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com Free App
NicholasRomano is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-04-2012, 09:04 PM   #2
Flexxx
*Insert Witty Phrase Here*
 
Flexxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Bikes: A couple 09 R1's, 07 zx6r(sold), 05 R6(sold), 03 R1(sold)
Location: Nashville, NC
Posts: 3,497
That triangular black plastic piece to the left of the lower part of the frame is your chain guard. It comes off, and the front sprocket can be accessed.

Now to get the front sprocket off, I would recommend leaving the back wheel mounted and locking the brakes while you torque down on that front sprocket to get it off. BUT, since you've already got it off(based off of the pictures), use an impact wrench.

Good luck!
__________________
SAVE A HORSE, RIDE A CROSSPLANE


NC STATE LEAD
R1-016 VENOM SQUADRON JOIN HERE


My 09 R1 Build


My Crossplane-Powered 37 Legends Car Build


Flexxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 02:52 AM   #3
Ramrod-R1
I eat my R1
 
Ramrod-R1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Bikes: 10 r1 street, r6 track
Location: Maryland
Posts: 182
What I would do is put the tire back on, assuming your old chain is still in place, connect the chain to the back sprocket, keeping the bike on the stand wrap a pipe or a long wrench with a rag and place through your swing arm going through the spoke of your rim to the other side of the swing arm ( this will keep the sprocket from rotating ). Keeping the bike in neutral, take the sprocket cover off and use a breaker bar to take the front sprocket off.
I'm sure there are other ways, just my o2.
Cycle gear makes a cheap chain kit you can use a couple times.
Ramrod-R1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 08:34 AM   #4
NicholasRomano
I eat my R1
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 04 R1
Location: NJ
Posts: 165
I think I see what you are talking about Flexxx, but that rod is in the way of accessing the bolt and this preventing the removal. Proving to be a pain in the ass.


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com Free App
NicholasRomano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:23 PM   #5
iGoldeneye
WERA? \_(ツ)_/ #21
 
iGoldeneye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Bikes: 2012 Yamaha R1 Raven - '04 GSXR600 (track) - 2006 Yamaha R1 50th Anniversary (sold)
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 2,253
Gotta get that shift rod out of the way in order to access the sprocket properly

Shouldn't be too hard to remove- Remove the bolt at the top of the knuckle completely and it should slide off... You'll have bigger fish to fry getting that front sprocket off
__________________

Thanks Uncle P!

WERA #21

View my MOD ADDICTED 2012 R1 build thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by bacchus40 View Post

Being a biker is not a welfare sport.
iGoldeneye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:26 PM   #6
NicholasRomano
I eat my R1
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 04 R1
Location: NJ
Posts: 165
That damn knuckle snapped my key trying to take it off. I suppose I'll have to try again later. Even if I don't replace the sprocket, the chain is in dire need of it.

Now to find a place that can break the chain for me.


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com Free App
NicholasRomano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:29 PM   #7
iGoldeneye
WERA? \_(ツ)_/ #21
 
iGoldeneye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Bikes: 2012 Yamaha R1 Raven - '04 GSXR600 (track) - 2006 Yamaha R1 50th Anniversary (sold)
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 2,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by NicholasRomano View Post
That damn knuckle snapped my key trying to take it off. I suppose I'll have to try again later. Even if I don't replace the sprocket, the chain is in dire need of it.

Now to find a place that can break the chain for me.


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com Free App
You want to change the sprockets and the chain at the same time... New chain + old sprockets will wear down the chain extremely fast to match the already worn sprockets... Do them all or you will waste your money
__________________

Thanks Uncle P!

WERA #21

View my MOD ADDICTED 2012 R1 build thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by bacchus40 View Post

Being a biker is not a welfare sport.
iGoldeneye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 01:22 PM   #8
Racer Dude
I eat my R1
 
Racer Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Bikes: 00 R1
Location: The Ghey Area
Posts: 4,714











__________________
Bogie is the man, and I should learn not to mess with him
Racer Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 11:15 AM   #9
NicholasRomano
I eat my R1
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 04 R1
Location: NJ
Posts: 165
So I was able to get my old chain off, using bolt cutters.... After it broke 2 pins on a chain breaker, damn that chain was shitty! Got the case off for the front sprocket, now I just need to find a 36mm socket, finding a 32mm for the rear was hard enough!

So as for my next question(I hope you guys aren't slowly growing a hatred for me)... Since I don't have access to a impact drill, should I install the old chain, so I can lock up the back tire? Or will that damage the chain? It wouldn't be ridden with it obviously, just used to stabilize it in place so I can pry that old sucker off.

Also I spent around an hour wiping out old grime, that I am assuming was chain lube, should I lube up the new sprocket? Or am I safe.

Sorry for the 20 questions, but as I stated earlier I am so new to this. And I trust the opinions of members over a random google search.


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com Free App
NicholasRomano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 11:59 AM   #10
Trevmo
Ride it like you stole it!
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Bikes: 2004 YZF-R1
Location: Germany
Posts: 372
Good luck finding the 36mm socket. I am not sure what to tell you about that one. Go to Autozone or Advance auto and try the "loan a tool" program. I am sure they will have the size you need. As for the grime, it's good to get all of that crap out of there. It's just old chain lube and probably tons of small rocks and sand mixed in. Don't lube the new sprocket, lube the chain lightly. Just enough to keep the small O-rings or X-rings from drying out. Hope this helps.
Trevmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 12:21 PM   #11
Dollar
I eat my R1
 
Dollar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Bikes: 02 R1 stoled 08 r1 now
Location: KANSAS CITY
Posts: 277
If you have a sears or harbor freight you can go there for the socket needed sould be just a couple of bucks
__________________
02 r1 raven graves rear sets,vel. stacks, slide stops, aig block offs, ohlins steering dampner,pc3, boxr ram air, bmc filter, renthal dual compound, full ti akro, driven sprockets. (STOLEN)
NEW RIDE 08 R1 current mods PC,akro y, A&R baffles
Dollar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 01:09 PM   #12
NicholasRomano
I eat my R1
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 04 R1
Location: NJ
Posts: 165
The chain I bought is drenched in lube(can't help but laugh) so I should be ok. And I do have a sears and autozone, so ill have to give one of those guys a ring. Thanks so much guys. Ill probably keep periodically bumping this with my dumb questions.


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com Free App
NicholasRomano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 07:01 AM   #13
DragMyR1
I eat my R1
 
DragMyR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 2010 ZX10 *SOLD* 2001 GSXR 1000 *SOLD* 2006 R1 RAVEN EDITION *SOLD* 2003 YAMAHA R1 *SOLD* CURRENT 2008 YAMAHA R1
Location: JACKSONVILLE, NC
Posts: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by brad21803 View Post
What I would do is put the tire back on, assuming your old chain is still in place, connect the chain to the back sprocket, keeping the bike on the stand wrap a pipe or a long wrench with a rag and place through your swing arm going through the spoke of your rim to the other side of the swing arm ( this will keep the sprocket from rotating ). Keeping the bike in neutral, take the sprocket cover off and use a breaker bar to take the front sprocket off.
I'm sure there are other ways, just my o2.
Cycle gear makes a cheap chain kit you can use a couple times.
just add to the confusion why don't ya!
__________________
R1-016 'Venom' Squadron Member "NC"
08' R1/PC3/M4 CF EXHAUST/McCoys Clutch Saver Mod/MP Revolver Quick Throttle/CF TANK COWL/ 14 OVER EVIL SWING ARM/ PRO-TECH REAR SETS/PRO-BOLTS BITS/ZERO GRAVITY LATIGO SEAT/FLASH-TUNE ECUINTERFACE/HOT BODIES FLUSH MOUNTS/SCOTTS ROTARY DAMPER/SOUPYSPERFORMANCE ADJ. LINK/BMC RACE FILTER/BALLISTIC 12 CELL EVO 2 BATTERY/VORTEX CLIPS ON'S FUEL CAP SPROCKS/DDM DUAL HID's/Tsubaki 530 Sigma O-Ring Chain

LIVE FAST
DragMyR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 10:25 AM   #14
NicholasRomano
I eat my R1
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 04 R1
Location: NJ
Posts: 165
So is there any easy way to get the rear brake back on? Should I just bang that bad boy back on to the caliper? Or what? Tried for about 10 minutes yesterday and couldn't get it on easily so I have up(had to go to dinner) and not sure if there's something I should be doing.


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com Free App
NicholasRomano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 10:48 AM   #15
Silentblack
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
 
Silentblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Bikes: 05 R1, 11 R1
Location: Steven Point, Wi.
Posts: 182
Push the pads apart?
__________________
I look at you, you look at me, you look away....
Silentblack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 11:42 AM   #16
Minacious
Death's Handshake
 
Minacious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Bikes: They're just bikes, you've seen 'em.
Location: The shadows of SoCal
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by NicholasRomano View Post
So is there any easy way to get the rear brake back on? Should I just bang that bad boy back on to the caliper? Or what? Tried for about 10 minutes yesterday and couldn't get it on easily so I have up(had to go to dinner) and not sure if there's something I should be doing.
Are you trying to get caliper, with the pads in, back onto the rotor? If so, please don't bang it on. That just makes babies cry.

Like Silent above said, the pads are probably squeezed together now, or pretty close to one another. Push the pads apart so that there is enough clearance to slide the caliper back onto the rotor. Once on, pump the rear brake until it is nice and tight. (Giggity)

As a matter of fact, I just PM'd the service manual to you. Read it like a manic. It will answer any questions you have.
__________________
Ed - Klingon women are HOT! (A Trekker for life)
CG Artist and Sci-Fi Nerd

Manic-Depressive and my head hurts.
Minacious is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 11:49 AM   #17
NicholasRomano
I eat my R1
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 04 R1
Location: NJ
Posts: 165
You guys rock. Thanks for putting up with my dumb antics. I tend to not do anything questionable until I consult someone. Last thing I want to do is do something silly.


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com Free App
NicholasRomano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 02:22 PM   #18
Benocehcap
Sonic Boom!
 
Benocehcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Bikes: 2001 Yamaha R1
Location: Azores,Portugal
Posts: 6,350
I like this guy
He make me look good


The sockets are at your local autozone. I use them once to take out the 36mm top fork nut. They only ask for you to deposit $20 in case you dont return the socket. Then they give your 20 buck... i love free shizzet!
__________________
Benocehcap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:06 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum
R1-Forum.com is an independent Yamaha enthusiast website. Content on R1-Forum.com is generated by its users and R1-Forum.com is not in any way affiliated with Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.