HOW TO: Install a Translogic Dash - Page 7 : Yamaha R1 Forum
» Insurance
» Yamaha R1 Prices
» Sponsors

How To's Please post your detailed How To's threads in here. They'll be of big help to owners of the R1.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2012, 09:45 AM   #121
jdgolightly
Just made this great wheelie.. did you see it?!
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 37
Translogic Dash current gear indicator

Very nice Job!!! Looks killer!!!
Do you know if the 06 R1 has gear indication?
did you connect anything for gear display other than Neutral indicator?

Thanks!
jdgolightly is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-07-2012, 05:46 PM   #122
Redgecko
I'm an Englishman in WI.
 
Redgecko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Bikes: 06 R1 UE
Location: WI
Posts: 30,756
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdgolightly View Post
Very nice Job!!! Looks killer!!!
Do you know if the 06 R1 has gear indication?
did you connect anything for gear display other than Neutral indicator?

Thanks!
The 06 R1 doesn't have gear indication in it's own right obviously but when you connect this dash it will give gear position, :Fact

Here it is in demo mode (click on the pic)

__________________





Redgecko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 02:19 AM   #123
tornado
My R1 eats me.
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Bikes: 2002 R1 & KR-1S
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by iGoldeneye View Post
Since I'm ordering one of these I'm jumping in the mix too... Hopefully I can be of some assistance (probably not really )

So has anyone seen these?

Fuel pump wiring diag.



Our "proposed" solution wiring diagram:



Since we now know this isn't an on-off type of indicator, but more of a "resistance based" schematic, I believe there is a resistor in the OEM dash leveraging how and when the light comes on... Here are more details:

(from G/W wire to dash)
Full Tank Output = 20 to 26 ohms
Empty Tank Output = 134 -140 ohms

(DISCLAIMER: these numbers were pulled from an eletronics website)

We need to know what voltage is required to power the LOW FUEL light on the OEM dash... That way we can get enough variables to plug into the circuit diagram posted above

We can implement pots instead of resistors in the interm to determine what numbers will suffice, then replace the pots with resistors for the final circuit diagram...

I want to investigate further but I'm currently working on a huge project at work; luckily the Translogic is the little reward I'm giving myself for knocking down such an INSANE project

Hi All

i've just noticed this thread,

I installed a Translogic MD3 dash onto my 2002 [5PW] R1 early this year and I too was concerned about the omission of a low fuel warning light

the top wiring diagram is lifted from the R1 circuit diagram

the bottom wiring diagram was from a post i created on a electronics website, a very helpfull chap created the curcuit diagram for me and I even ordered all the component parts, the cost was pennies, about £15 -and that was for double of everythinhg [just incase I messed up!]

that's were the story ends, it'll be one one my winter projects to create the circuit, it'll be tiny [the size of a matchbox] so it'll be easy to place behind ont the side panels

Paul
tornado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 09:36 AM   #124
Toecutter
Throw Some D's On It
 
Toecutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Bikes: 06 R1 Raven
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Posts: 8,781
Great job, looks sic!!
__________________

Sig by Petrol Spice

"I live, love, and I Slay--I am content."-Conan

"He's a Sultan. The only thing he did different from the rest of us was getting pushed out of a rich p*ssy."--Diazarusmc

History does not entrust the care of freedom to the weak or timid.--Dwight Eisenhower

"I am ripper, I am slasher, I am the teeth in the night!"--Beowolf

"I hope you contact syphilis from the male prostitute you frequently visit and DIE! (How's that for being subtle?)"--ImNotAsCoolAsU


Toecutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 01:24 PM   #125
jdgolightly
Just made this great wheelie.. did you see it?!
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 37
Thanks for the demo, it looks incredible, however that was a demo of the display, which has capability of gear indicator, but I can't find any details of gear position indication on any R1's prior to 09 years, does anyone have a digital gear indiator like, Datatool, GiPro, etc.? I've not heard anyone state how they work?
jdgolightly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 01:57 PM   #126
iGoldeneye
WERA? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ #21
 
iGoldeneye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Bikes: 2012 Yamaha R1 Raven - '04 GSXR600 (track) - 2006 Yamaha R1 50th Anniversary (sold)
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 2,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by tornado View Post
Hi All

i've just noticed this thread,

I installed a Translogic MD3 dash onto my 2002 [5PW] R1 early this year and I too was concerned about the omission of a low fuel warning light

the top wiring diagram is lifted from the R1 circuit diagram

the bottom wiring diagram was from a post i created on a electronics website, a very helpfull chap created the curcuit diagram for me and I even ordered all the component parts, the cost was pennies, about £15 -and that was for double of everythinhg [just incase I messed up!]

that's were the story ends, it'll be one one my winter projects to create the circuit, it'll be tiny [the size of a matchbox] so it'll be easy to place behind ont the side panels

Paul
Thanks Paul and welcome to the forum if you haven't been formally introduced already!

The info you provided deemed to be highly valuable until I received my version of the TL dash... Which didn't include a low fuel wire, but a mileage countdown My 'LOW FUEL' indicator comes on when I'm down to the final 30 miles on the trip meter, which is about when my OEM low fuel light would come on

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdgolightly View Post
Thanks for the demo, it looks incredible, however that was a demo of the display, which has capability of gear indicator, but I can't find any details of gear position indication on any R1's prior to 09 years, does anyone have a digital gear indiator like, Datatool, GiPro, etc.? I've not heard anyone state how they work?
Hmmm... Not quite 100% sure of the question you're asking, however, the TL dash not only "displays" the gear indicator, but it has one built in, as the dash does not use the OEM gear indicator on the 09+ models. The Translogic gear indicator is programmed when you calibrate the dash initially (you will need to calibrate RPM's, MPH, and gear position) So if your bike doesn't have one, it does once you install the Translogic Dash

Here are some shots of my install... ()





OEM Dash removed





Posi-Taps into OEM Dash Harness





OEM Speed Sensor Posi-Taps




Engine Temp Sensor




Yes, you will pull more than the tank





TL Dash installed...











__________________

Thanks Uncle P!

WERA #21 | INSTAGRAM @igoldeneye21

For sale! 04-06 R1 Aftermarket Parts!

View my MOD ADDICTED 2012 R1 build thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by bacchus40
Being a biker is not a welfare sport.
iGoldeneye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 08:50 AM   #127
Epictetus
I eat my R1
 
Epictetus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Bikes: 04 WSBK R1
Location: Co
Posts: 102
Hope you guys can help...

Down to the last wire on my translogic Dash Install and I can't figure out what to do with the temp wire-

This makes sense and it is what I wish my TL harness came with



However this is what I have-

(see attached image)


That two pin connector is definitely for the temp sensor for the TL wiring instruction and the fact that everything works besides the temp sensor - however I do NOT have the metal tab just a plug? What exactly am I missing or what do I need to do?

any help would be much appreciated Carbon R1!

thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	121.5 KB
ID:	478862  
__________________
Faluire is that scary thing you see when you take your mind of the goal.
Epictetus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 03:44 PM   #128
CARBONAR1
90% INDESTRUCTABLE
 
CARBONAR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Bikes: 06 R1R - 01 R1 hybrid - 06 Gixxer 1000 trackbike, 06 FZ6N - 96 FailBladder cadaver
Location: South Oz
Posts: 15,283
You are missing the temp sensor from your kit. It connects to that plug and gets bolted down like mine.

Contact Translogic and send them that pic, I hope they send it without argueing.
__________________

FASTER AND FASTER 'TILL THE THRILL OF SPEED OVERCOMES THE FEAR OF DEATH

-HUNTER S. THOMPSON .................................................. ............................................sig by PETROL_SPICE
CARBONAR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 04:04 PM   #129
Epictetus
I eat my R1
 
Epictetus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Bikes: 04 WSBK R1
Location: Co
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by CARBONAR1 View Post
You are missing the temp sensor from your kit. It connects to that plug and gets bolted down like mine.

Contact Translogic and send them that pic, I hope they send it without argueing.
Really? Damn. I knew something had to be missing.

I appreciate the help. Did anyone ever figure anything out on the fuel light?
__________________
Faluire is that scary thing you see when you take your mind of the goal.
Epictetus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 08:53 PM   #130
iGoldeneye
WERA? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ #21
 
iGoldeneye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Bikes: 2012 Yamaha R1 Raven - '04 GSXR600 (track) - 2006 Yamaha R1 50th Anniversary (sold)
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 2,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epictetus View Post
Really? Damn. I knew something had to be missing.

I appreciate the help. Did anyone ever figure anything out on the fuel light?
If you have the latest version, it comes with a fuel mileage countdown. No more useless fuel light indicator wire
__________________

Thanks Uncle P!

WERA #21 | INSTAGRAM @igoldeneye21

For sale! 04-06 R1 Aftermarket Parts!

View my MOD ADDICTED 2012 R1 build thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by bacchus40
Being a biker is not a welfare sport.
iGoldeneye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 09:34 PM   #131
Benocehcap
Sonic Boom!
 
Benocehcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Bikes: 2001 Yamaha R1
Location: Azores,Portugal
Posts: 6,439
I want one so BAD!
__________________
Benocehcap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 07:38 AM   #132
CARBONAR1
90% INDESTRUCTABLE
 
CARBONAR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Bikes: 06 R1R - 01 R1 hybrid - 06 Gixxer 1000 trackbike, 06 FZ6N - 96 FailBladder cadaver
Location: South Oz
Posts: 15,283
Quote:
Originally Posted by iGoldeneye View Post
If you have the latest version, it comes with a fuel mileage countdown. No more useless fuel light indicator wire


They all have a mileage countdown. It's wiring a light to activate as a low fuel warning, that's eluding us!
__________________

FASTER AND FASTER 'TILL THE THRILL OF SPEED OVERCOMES THE FEAR OF DEATH

-HUNTER S. THOMPSON .................................................. ............................................sig by PETROL_SPICE
CARBONAR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 09:02 PM   #133
Ironhorz
Love that Crossplane...
 
Ironhorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Bikes: '12 50th Anniversary WGP Replica R1 #1277, 2005 R1: SOLD, 2001 R1: SOLD
Location: Altus, Ok
Posts: 1,275
Bump... Just figured I'd bring this one back to the front to see if anyone made any progress on the low fuel warning light debacle.
__________________

Thanks Petrol Spice


"Men sleep peacefully in their beds at night because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf."
George Orwell

2012 R1 WGP 50th Anniversary #1277 Build Click here...
Ironhorz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 11:40 PM   #134
iGoldeneye
WERA? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ #21
 
iGoldeneye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Bikes: 2012 Yamaha R1 Raven - '04 GSXR600 (track) - 2006 Yamaha R1 50th Anniversary (sold)
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 2,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironhorz View Post
Bump... Just figured I'd bring this one back to the front to see if anyone made any progress on the low fuel warning light debacle.
Well, the guys with earlier versions may have some new discoveries... Us with the newer model only have countdowns; no wire

P.S. My countdown has been pretty spot on set at 130 miles
__________________

Thanks Uncle P!

WERA #21 | INSTAGRAM @igoldeneye21

For sale! 04-06 R1 Aftermarket Parts!

View my MOD ADDICTED 2012 R1 build thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by bacchus40
Being a biker is not a welfare sport.

Last edited by iGoldeneye; 02-19-2013 at 11:42 PM.
iGoldeneye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 11:47 PM   #135
ebags
1290!
 
ebags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Bikes: KTM SuperDuke 1290R & Aprilia SMV750 Dorsoduro Factory
Location: Melb, Aust.
Posts: 8,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by iGoldeneye View Post


WTF what happened to the kick ass James Bond case they used to come in (see first post).
__________________
"Adding power makes you faster on the straights. Subtracting weight makes you faster everywhere."
Colin Chapman




PETROLSPICE ORIGINALS®


ebags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 05:31 AM   #136
Redgecko
I'm an Englishman in WI.
 
Redgecko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Bikes: 06 R1 UE
Location: WI
Posts: 30,756
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebags View Post
WTF what happened to the kick ass James Bond case they used to come in (see first post).

Robbed
__________________





Redgecko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 05:47 AM   #137
ebags
1290!
 
ebags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Bikes: KTM SuperDuke 1290R & Aprilia SMV750 Dorsoduro Factory
Location: Melb, Aust.
Posts: 8,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redgecko View Post
Robbed
Aye....

Still want one though
__________________
"Adding power makes you faster on the straights. Subtracting weight makes you faster everywhere."
Colin Chapman




PETROLSPICE ORIGINALS®


ebags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 06:37 AM   #138
Benocehcap
Sonic Boom!
 
Benocehcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Bikes: 2001 Yamaha R1
Location: Azores,Portugal
Posts: 6,439
some dude as one for sale here on the forums. But my bike is an 01, not sure if its possible to plug it :
Benocehcap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 07:08 AM   #139
Gearheaded
Venom X/O
 
Gearheaded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Bikes: 2009 Raven R1(gone) 2008 Spicy Mustard r6
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 20,356
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benocehcap View Post
some dude as one for sale here on the forums. But my bike is an 01, not sure if its possible to plug it :
It sold Ben..
__________________


Whoody whoody woo!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeeter View Post
You pecker head....
R1-016 Venom Squad
Gearheaded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 03:38 PM   #140
Benocehcap
Sonic Boom!
 
Benocehcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Bikes: 2001 Yamaha R1
Location: Azores,Portugal
Posts: 6,439
Crap!
i signed and still cant see pix

http://www.yamaha-forum.net/forum/showthread.php?t=325
__________________
Benocehcap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Translogic micro dash install help andy_dea Appearance & Mods 38 01-08-2012 11:25 AM
help with translogic dash install and er 1 2 slick+r1=glory Mechanical / Help 0 03-25-2011 04:52 AM
Translogic Micro Dash? nobody General Motorcycle Discussions 3 10-31-2006 02:06 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:52 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Forum Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum Kawasaki Ninja 250SL Forum
R1-Forum.com is an independent Yamaha enthusiast website. Content on R1-Forum.com is generated by its users and R1-Forum.com is not in any way affiliated with Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.