AUCT.MART Aftermarket Fairings : Yamaha R1 Forum
» Insurance
» Yamaha R1 Prices
» Sponsors

Appearance & Mods Looks is important. Ask here for help on, flushmounts, undertails, bodywork, exhaust models etc

Old 07-10-2012, 11:45 PM   #1
Bmoresfinest
My R1 eats me.

AUCT.MART Aftermarket Fairings

Ok, So let me start off by saying im not a mechanic. But I have had three bikes. cbr600 r6s and my r1. I put new plastics on all three, using ebay fairings... the cbr and r6 came out great. nice clear coats, easy to install, very slight modifications to make it work...

I bought this set from Auct.Mart off ebay for my r1 on June 11. I recieved them July 7..... The shipping quote they gave was actually a week earlier than the date I got them. They have piss poor customer service, and only respond when threatening them with reporting them to ebay ( possibility of 30 day suspension). I recieved them in the mail and got right to work, ive taken the R1 apart once or twice and was able to put it back easily. So I am familiar with the bike. Just for arguements sake i figured id throw that out there. When i started to put the plastics on I immediately was irritated. They had one or two little knicks in them, the head unit had a few spots of red paint splatter on the blue areas... I ignored it.

The head unit itself was a pain in the ass in itself. It didnt line up anywhere close, therefore nothing fit right. In fact, I was even able to get a plastic piece to hold where the nose, and black pieces by the radiator meet up. After about 6hrs messing with it I had everything aside from the tank and tail piece done. Not happy. I get to putting the wind screen on and to my amazement, the damn windscreen bolt actually pulled the "3 clear coats over the decals" off and the decal is now bunched up... Clearly they didnt clear coat it....