02 R1 HID kit question : Yamaha R1 Forum
» Insurance
» Yamaha R1 Prices
» Sponsors

Appearance & Mods Looks is important. Ask here for help on, flushmounts, undertails, bodywork, exhaust models etc

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2012, 09:13 PM   #1
dvibbert
My R1 eats me.
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
02 R1 HID kit question

I searched alot of threads with no real answer, so I thought I would try. I bough a HID kit for my 02 R1. It is the low beam set-up. I want the lights to be kind of like my Kawasaki 636. One light is on when dim and both on when brights. Is it possible to only have one hid light hooked up to the dim wires and the other to be off. When I turn on bright lights they both will come on. (both dim). I would need to wire one light to the dim wires and the other to the bright wiring for the other hid bulb? Any opinions/thoughts?
dvibbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-03-2012, 12:10 PM   #2
kearly1cat
UK needs more bikers
 
kearly1cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Bikes: 06 Yamaha R1
Location: New Milton. UK
Posts: 106
Hi there, have you talked to Rob at AandRmotorsport. He sells HID kits for bikes. He might be able to help you or advise you.
kearly1cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 02:46 PM   #3
dvibbert
My R1 eats me.
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
I thought I would start here first.
dvibbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 04:24 PM   #4
toysareforboys
My R1 eats me.
 
toysareforboys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Bikes: 07 R1, flash-tune'd
Location: Whitby, Ontario, Kanada
Posts: 1,900
Yes, it's easy to wire it up so only one light is on when on low beams and both light up on high beams.

If you have two ballasts, wire one ballast to the low beam wires, and wire the other ballast to the high beam wires. Done! On low beam only one side will be on, on high beam both will be on!

And FYI, we don't call em dim and brights around here, probably for the technical reason the highbeam and lowbeam are the same brightness

-Jamie M.

Last edited by toysareforboys; 11-04-2012 at 11:13 AM.
toysareforboys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 10:59 AM   #5
dvibbert
My R1 eats me.
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
I thought it could be done that way. Just wanted a second opinion. Thanks!


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com Free App
dvibbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 02:54 PM   #6
dvibbert
My R1 eats me.
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
I tried to hook one ballast to the lowbeam and the other to the opposite side highbeam. When I go from low beam (left light on only) to high beam (both should be on) the left goes of and the right comes on. Not what I wanted. Lowbeam one light on, high beam both on.
dvibbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 03:09 PM   #7
toysareforboys
My R1 eats me.
 
toysareforboys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Bikes: 07 R1, flash-tune'd
Location: Whitby, Ontario, Kanada
Posts: 1,900
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvibbert View Post
I tried to hook one ballast to the lowbeam and the other to the opposite side highbeam. When I go from low beam (left light on only) to high beam (both should be on) the left goes of and the right comes on. Not what I wanted. Lowbeam one light on, high beam both on.
Hmmm, funky Sounds like you could use a relay then.

Standard 30amp/40amp automotive relay like so:
Amazon Amazon


Would wire it like:



Pin 87 to positive battery terminal +12v (with 15amp in-line fuse).
Pin 87a to low beam positive wire.
Pin 30 to HID ballast positive wire (low beam side).
Pin 86 to high beam positive wire (in addition to the high beam HID positive wire).
Pin 85 to ground (either battery -, frame ground or black/ground headlight wire).

Make sure that the low beam HID ballast positive wire is ONLY connected to pin 30, no other wires.

Now, when you switch on high beam the low beam HID will switch to the battery for power, instead of the low beam wires which no longer have power.

-Jamie M.
toysareforboys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 10:30 AM   #8
dvibbert
My R1 eats me.
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
I wired it up with a relay from a Ford (had it laying around) and it works perfectly! Thanks for the information. Much appreciated


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com Free App
dvibbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:12 AM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum
R1-Forum.com is an independent Yamaha enthusiast website. Content on R1-Forum.com is generated by its users and R1-Forum.com is not in any way affiliated with Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.