Tune then flash or Flash then tune? : Yamaha R1 Forum
» Insurance
» Yamaha R1 Prices
» Sponsors

General Motorcycle Discussions Any general discussions related to Motorcycles goes in here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2012, 05:40 AM   #1
Italgeorge
2009 R1
 
Italgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 2009 Yamaha R1 Raven
Location: Odessa, Tx
Posts: 154
Tune then flash or Flash then tune?

Just wonder what order I should follow. I have the PC5 with Autotune. Should I get the bike dyno tuned THEN get the ECU flashed? Or flash it THEN get it tuned? Thanks!
__________________
2009 R1 Raven

Yoshi R77 CF Dual cans w/y-pipe
PowerCommander V
AutoTune
Graves Block Offs
Watsen Flushmounts
luck
Italgeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-06-2012, 05:54 AM   #2
marshdrummer
Lucky 13 X/O
 
marshdrummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Bikes: 2011 R1
Location: CT
Posts: 930
Flash first to get rid of the restrictions...
__________________
Lucky 13th Squadron X/O
#69

LRRS AM
RSP Racing #920
Sponsors: Pirelli, Tony's trackdays, Motorcycle Tires and Gear, Dyno Solutions, Sportbike Track Gear, Knox, Woodcraft, 434racer.com
marshdrummer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 05:55 AM   #3
Italgeorge
2009 R1
 
Italgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 2009 Yamaha R1 Raven
Location: Odessa, Tx
Posts: 154
Ok sweet. Should I go with Flash tune or ECUnleashed?
__________________
2009 R1 Raven

Yoshi R77 CF Dual cans w/y-pipe
PowerCommander V
AutoTune
Graves Block Offs
Watsen Flushmounts
luck
Italgeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:24 AM   #4
AKDMA
I eat my R1
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 2011 Raven R1
Location: WNC
Posts: 1,710
The flash-tune interface is the way to go. You can do everything youself and make infinite changes. Def flash, then tune as he said.
AKDMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:25 AM   #5
z064life
R1 Forum Star
 
z064life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Bikes: 2010 R1, 2009 Roadstar Silverado, 2005 GS500F (wife's), PW50 (with training wheels), 2008 R6 (Sold)
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 14,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKDMA View Post
The flash-tune interface is the way to go. You can do everything youself and make infinite changes. Def flash, then tune as he said.
yep..and if you are using a dyno to tune, with the interface you technically don't need the PCV.
__________________
Hey Greenstreak, it's z064life lazy ass

Phantom Squadron XO - http://www.r1-forum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=50
z064life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:27 AM   #6
AKDMA
I eat my R1
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 2011 Raven R1
Location: WNC
Posts: 1,710
True, but that'd be a painstaking and time consuming way to tune (remove ecu, make adjustments, 5 min flash time, reinstall, repeat). I'd hang onto the PCV for now.
AKDMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:34 AM   #7
Italgeorge
2009 R1
 
Italgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 2009 Yamaha R1 Raven
Location: Odessa, Tx
Posts: 154
Ok sounds good. Ordering the interface today! I won't need the auto tune anymore correct? Or would it be a good idea to keep it?
__________________
2009 R1 Raven

Yoshi R77 CF Dual cans w/y-pipe
PowerCommander V
AutoTune
Graves Block Offs
Watsen Flushmounts
luck
Italgeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:36 AM   #8
z064life
R1 Forum Star
 
z064life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Bikes: 2010 R1, 2009 Roadstar Silverado, 2005 GS500F (wife's), PW50 (with training wheels), 2008 R6 (Sold)
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 14,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Italgeorge View Post
Ok sounds good. Ordering the interface today! I won't need the auto tune anymore correct? Or would it be a good idea to keep it?
You don't need it...what are you doing with it. I ride at many tracks in many different conditions so I like the autotune to use it the 1st couple sessions of the weekend. If you are a street rider, I'd save your money.
__________________
Hey Greenstreak, it's z064life lazy ass

Phantom Squadron XO - http://www.r1-forum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=50
z064life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:37 AM   #9
AKDMA
I eat my R1
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 2011 Raven R1
Location: WNC
Posts: 1,710
LOL. "Yeah, ditch it, matter of fact I'll handle that for you". Really, he's right though. If you're getting a custom tune, you shouldn't ever need it again unless you drastically change altitude or something like that.
AKDMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:41 AM   #10
Italgeorge
2009 R1
 
Italgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 2009 Yamaha R1 Raven
Location: Odessa, Tx
Posts: 154
Thanks for all the input guys. Guess gonna get this ECU flashed, sell this auto tune, and take the bike in to get all tuned up.
__________________
2009 R1 Raven

Yoshi R77 CF Dual cans w/y-pipe
PowerCommander V
AutoTune
Graves Block Offs
Watsen Flushmounts
luck
Italgeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:38 AM   #11
drjak
Take the red pill
 
drjak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Bikes: '09 R1
Location: USA
Posts: 5,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Italgeorge View Post
Thanks for all the input guys. Guess gonna get this ECU flashed, sell this auto tune, and take the bike in to get all tuned up.
Why not keep the autotune and skip the dyno tuning session? Put in 13.0 on the autotune and you should be done.
drjak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:41 AM   #12
Italgeorge
2009 R1
 
Italgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 2009 Yamaha R1 Raven
Location: Odessa, Tx
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by drjak View Post
Why not keep the autotune and skip the dyno tuning session? Put in 13.0 on the autotune and you should be done.
Bc as I understand it no auto tune is as good as a real dyno tune done by someone who knows what there doing. Unless I have been misinformed?
__________________
2009 R1 Raven

Yoshi R77 CF Dual cans w/y-pipe
PowerCommander V
AutoTune
Graves Block Offs
Watsen Flushmounts
luck
Italgeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:45 AM   #13
marshdrummer
Lucky 13 X/O
 
marshdrummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Bikes: 2011 R1
Location: CT
Posts: 930
If your tuner is cool like mine, get the flash, put the PCV on, get the custom tune, take the PCV off, then get it flashed again and import your map...no piggybacks to fail.
__________________
Lucky 13th Squadron X/O
#69

LRRS AM
RSP Racing #920
Sponsors: Pirelli, Tony's trackdays, Motorcycle Tires and Gear, Dyno Solutions, Sportbike Track Gear, Knox, Woodcraft, 434racer.com
marshdrummer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:48 AM   #14
marshdrummer
Lucky 13 X/O
 
marshdrummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Bikes: 2011 R1
Location: CT
Posts: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Italgeorge View Post
Bc as I understand it no auto tune is as good as a real dyno tune done by someone who knows what there doing. Unless I have been misinformed?
The autotune is NOT as good as a custom tune...A custom tune is to get the best a/f ratios/performance out of YOUR bike...every machine is different. Plus, the auto tune is only good up to 6k rpms. Set it up with a custom tune and never look back (unless you go from sea level to Colorado lol). the only reason to keep the auto tune is for gas milage where you are under the 6k (like highway). But I don't think you bought it for the gas mileage.
__________________
Lucky 13th Squadron X/O
#69

LRRS AM
RSP Racing #920
Sponsors: Pirelli, Tony's trackdays, Motorcycle Tires and Gear, Dyno Solutions, Sportbike Track Gear, Knox, Woodcraft, 434racer.com

Last edited by marshdrummer; 12-06-2012 at 07:50 AM.
marshdrummer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:48 AM   #15
Italgeorge
2009 R1
 
Italgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 2009 Yamaha R1 Raven
Location: Odessa, Tx
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by marshdrummer View Post
If your tuner is cool like mine, get the flash, put the PCV on, get the custom tune, take the PCV off, then get it flashed again and import your map...no piggybacks to fail.
Now that's a great idea!
__________________
2009 R1 Raven

Yoshi R77 CF Dual cans w/y-pipe
PowerCommander V
AutoTune
Graves Block Offs
Watsen Flushmounts
luck
Italgeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:48 AM   #16
AKDMA
I eat my R1
 
Join Date: May 2012
Bikes: 2011 Raven R1
Location: WNC
Posts: 1,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by Italgeorge View Post
Bc as I understand it no auto tune is as good as a real dyno tune done by someone who knows what there doing. Unless I have been misinformed?
Dan Kyle, a good tuner, says the AutoTune will get you very close if you have an idea of what your optimum AFR is. On an autotune, you're able to make changes under real riding conditions including ram air, etc. With the dyno, you're dealing with an expert (hopefully) who will smooth everything out and should be able to make a nice curve for you. Some tuners are better than others, if you have an awesome tuner, the custom tune might be better. But I run an auto tune and have no plans of getting rid of it.
AKDMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:52 AM   #17
marshdrummer
Lucky 13 X/O
 
marshdrummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Bikes: 2011 R1
Location: CT
Posts: 930
Here's my plan:
Flash to de-restrict, turn off AIS (use plates too), Turn off O2 sensor, use the speedo healer function (-1 in the front), change fan setting.
Put on PCV
Custom tune
Take off PCV
Re-flash importing my custom map
Never look back
__________________
Lucky 13th Squadron X/O
#69

LRRS AM
RSP Racing #920
Sponsors: Pirelli, Tony's trackdays, Motorcycle Tires and Gear, Dyno Solutions, Sportbike Track Gear, Knox, Woodcraft, 434racer.com
marshdrummer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:53 AM   #18
z064life
R1 Forum Star
 
z064life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Bikes: 2010 R1, 2009 Roadstar Silverado, 2005 GS500F (wife's), PW50 (with training wheels), 2008 R6 (Sold)
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 14,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by marshdrummer View Post
The autotune is NOT as good as a custom tune...A custom tune is to get the best a/f ratios/performance out of YOUR bike...every machine is different. Plus, the auto tune is only good up to 6k rpms. Set it up with a custom tune and never look back (unless you go from sea level to Colorado lol). the only reason to keep the auto tune is for gas milage where you are under the 6k (like highway). But I don't think you bought it for the gas mileage.
why does an autotune only work under 6k?

A dyno tune is better and the only way to figure out optimum AFRs as AKDMA stated...after that autotune is more accurate
__________________
Hey Greenstreak, it's z064life lazy ass

Phantom Squadron XO - http://www.r1-forum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=50
z064life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:56 AM   #19
marshdrummer
Lucky 13 X/O
 
marshdrummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Bikes: 2011 R1
Location: CT
Posts: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by z064life View Post
why does an autotune only work under 6k?

A dyno tune is better and the only way to figure out optimum AFRs as AKDMA stated...after that autotune is more accurate
Auto tune, from what was explained to me, reads the gas/o2 level in exhaust through the o2 sensor. At the 6k point, the o2 sensor no longer becomes useful and the ECU reads from the map that is on it. I may be wrong, but that is the way it was explained to me.
__________________
Lucky 13th Squadron X/O
#69

LRRS AM
RSP Racing #920
Sponsors: Pirelli, Tony's trackdays, Motorcycle Tires and Gear, Dyno Solutions, Sportbike Track Gear, Knox, Woodcraft, 434racer.com
marshdrummer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:57 AM   #20
z064life
R1 Forum Star
 
z064life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Bikes: 2010 R1, 2009 Roadstar Silverado, 2005 GS500F (wife's), PW50 (with training wheels), 2008 R6 (Sold)
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 14,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by marshdrummer View Post
Auto tune, from what was explained to me, reads the gas/o2 level in exhaust through the o2 sensor. At the 6k point, the o2 sensor no longer becomes useful and the ECU reads from the map that is on it. I may be wrong, but that is the way it was explained to me.
You are wrong. An autotune read all the way to the engine's limit.
__________________
Hey Greenstreak, it's z064life lazy ass

Phantom Squadron XO - http://www.r1-forum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=50
z064life is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:55 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum