First ride on my R1 : Yamaha R1 Forum
» Insurance
» Yamaha R1 Prices
» Sponsors

General Motorcycle Discussions Any general discussions related to Motorcycles goes in here.

Old 01-13-2013, 03:26 PM   #1
franco802
I eat my R1

Bikes: 2012 R1
First ride on my R1

Went for my first ride on my 05 R1 and wow! This thing is very sensitive and fast! I'm almost scared of it. I guess I just have to get use to riding a sport bike or shall I say super bike? My Harley is way easy to ride and control compared to the R1. I wanted to take a class at a race school, but most told me I don't have enough riding experience to take thier course.

I have been riding since November 2012. I love the R1, but I would definitely feel better taking a class so I can feel what this bike can do and build my confidence. I totally understand what people were saying about respecting this bike. When you twist the throttle, it makes you feel like twisting it more and more. When I first took my Harley sportster on the freeway last week, it felt like I was doing 100 and I was only doing 65. I took my R1 on the highway and I was doing 75 and didn't even know it. A totally different animal that's for sure.
franco802 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-13-2013, 03:28 PM   #2
BlackShadow
Need $ for bike parts

Bikes: 2011 R1, and all the bikes I wish i had
Yeah, little different from a Harley, just a little, LOL

Sig by Uncle P

I wish my Dad was alive to see some of the crazy shit I do. RIP Pops
BlackShadow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 03:36 PM   #3
quick kurt
I RACE U LOSE

Bikes: 2000 R1 SOLD & 2006 R1 50th Anniversary & 2012 R1 50th G.P. Anniversary#145
Keep an eye on the speedo, and be careful with the throttle.