Another "wont start after winter" thread - Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums
02-03 R1 Mechanical Help Mechanical and Critical Issues for the 02-03 R1

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-12-2019, 02:16 PM Thread Starter
My R1 eats me.

Another "wont start after winter" thread

New England winter/spring is so brutal for maintenance.

I'm new to wrenching but committed to doing absolutely everything myself that doesnt require extensive costs, expertise, and specialized equipment. Got a master cylinder rebuilt, new stator, aftermarket exhaust, PC-V, and brake job under my belt so far.

To the point... the bike didnt start after winter. It would crank strongly but not fire. I could get at least 5 good cranks out of it before it started to take a toll on the battery.

Now, I reconnected that PCV ground wire so many of us seem to forget about. The bike cranks AND fires/runs but immediately stops when I let go of the starter button.

Right now I'm thinking my next move is to reflash the PC-V seeing that the starting issue directly involves the PC. (Meanwhile... dash lights, fuel pump primes, starter relay clicks, bike cranks, runs with starter depressed. I have "just for fun" replaced the spark plugs with new ones. Replaced the starter relay with a DB Electrical relay they identified as the correct part of this year/model/make. I have a new lithium-ferrous battery coming along with a replacement fuel pump relay)

There are 7 diagnostic codes stored but I dont know when they were last cleared. I'll clear those tonight I just didnt have time and patience at 8pm. The stored codes are: 11, 12, 16, 17, 19, 22, 30.

Any thoughts before I come back with new codes or re-flash the PC?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-13-2019, 06:03 AM Thread Starter
My R1 eats me.

diag 62 > key ON > starter switch to "ON" > flick starter switch to OFF then back on > turn key to OFF