Getting knee down - Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums
Technique & Riding Want to kneescrape? Go faster in corners? Smoother riding? Anything about how to ride goes in here please.

11Likes
  • 1 Post By y32dsm
  • 4 Post By decubitus
  • 2 Post By Masao Furusawa
  • 3 Post By Veshengo
  • 1 Post By andrewstclair

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-02-2019, 01:46 PM Thread Starter
I eat my R1

Getting knee down

Was practicing on my r6 yesterday in parking lot. Had jeans on so a bit hard to move around. It seems in videos and pictures to get knee down you need to have your kneecap about the same level as the crank. Any advice
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-02-2019, 04:32 PM
I eat my R1

When I started riding, I was on the same page. "knee down" comes naturally when you know how to ride properly. It is outcome, not a purpose. I guess more seat time would show you what I mean. Faster you take corners, you must lean a bike. Then, you get knee down. It is much easier to get knee down when tires are hot (sticky) instead of cold temp in parking lot. Having better tires may also help your goal. hope it helps.
KevinT7 likes this.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-02-2019, 07:09 PM Thread Starter
I eat my R1

Yeah I've got some old powers on there. It just seems my knee is a few feet off the ground. I've looked at pics of guys doing it and it looks ike theyre knee is way lower. Lets say equal to the crank

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-03-2019, 12:35 PM
My R1 eats me.

Trying to get your knee down with jeans? No, please stop. Full leathers with knee sliders. Getting your knee down is not what you should be striving for. Proper cornering technique is the ticket. Your knee will touch down when the time comes. And, the first time it does, it will scare the sh*t out of you.
iamzombie, emilson, MrSix4 and 1 others like this.
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-03-2019, 02:14 PM
OUR12!

ditch the jeans