Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Somebody stole my pants.
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok this could just be panic or stupidity about my driving. But for some strange reason my R1 dies on me from time to time. I have had the bike since Friday and only have been on it then and tonight (Monday). For some reason it dies on me every now and then. It has done it 4 times and I am only at 140 miles on it. Maybe it is something abut break in? It does it whenever I am coming to a stop, I pull in the clutch shift to 1st and it dies. Anyone have a clue?

As for the right clip on, whenever the weight shifts, as in accelerating or stopping, the right front clip on moves making a clicking sound? Is this something I should take to the dealer and demand it be fixed ASAP or what? Not sure if this is common of not.

I have been riding a Ninja 500 since 2002, before that use to ride my dads sport bikes, and now I am riding my R1 and my friends R6. So far his does not have the dyeing problem or the right clip on problem. That is why I am asking. Thank you very much for your help.

Yes I did search but could not find what I was looking for sorry if this is a repost.

·
Mmmmm, Stone chippy
40 Posts
Sounds like they haven't fixed the problem from the '07s. Mine did the same thing but only started at about 6000km. Does yours have a power commander on it? I fixed mine by putting a new map on it and and changing the closed throttle position down a step. Apparently adjusting the TPS can also solve it if you don't have a PCIII. Go back to the dealer mate.
Its really disappointing that yamaha haven't fixed this issue yet.

If you look throught this section there are two threads on this subject.

·
Somebody stole my pants.
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I do not have a PC on it yet. Will take it to the dealer asap. Will call them in the morning thank you for your help.

·
Have you killed a cat today ?
9,925 Posts
About the cutting out,