Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 123 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, Newbie here been lurking for a while and leaching information, the place has been great for getting info for what I needed and I'd like to thank you all for that.. So I thought I'd show you my R1 fighter build.. Nothing fancy just keeping it simple, and I know you all aren't the biggest fans of fighters but for those who like I hope you enjoy.. Cheers

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Knowing nothing about R1's except the fact I like them.. (I'm an oil cooled man) I grabbed a manual and hasn't this thing been great..

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well she was desperately in need of a new clutch, so that was first thing I purchased, followed by a new stator cover as mine was a little scratched up..

Before

After

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Next I moved onto the front end.. I really didn't like the gold forks and blue dot brakes, so I managed to get a really good condition 03 set of forks of fleabay..

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
The swingarm had also seen better days with some deep gouges, dints and scratches.. So I got hold of an 01 swinger in much better condition..

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I sprayed the blue dots gloss black and also the bottom of my 03 forks.. Much better in my opinion.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #9 (Edited)
Then I stripped it.. and off with the triples to get a freshen up with black.. and fresh tapered steering head bearings were installed.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #10 (Edited)
Then On with the forks, Renthal fat bar risers and Bars.. BXP front resi.. and the dominator headlight setup, I'm still not sold on these I have other plans for headlight yet.. also fitted new left switch gear.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #11