Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i just abought a 2000 r1 the other day, and i replace the rectifier (it needed it), and the battery. this morning when i went to take it out i put it in gear and gave it some gas. when i did that i heard a pop and now there is a clicking noise and the bike wont move even with it in gear and giving it gas, im hoping that maybe its something with the clutch.
the cables didnt break and they are in good condition. im new to yamahas in general. can someone help me diagnose the problem?

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
A pop is not a good noise.

Remove clutch cover, inspect clutch, change and inspect oil. Advise from there.
one of the clutch discs did break, would it be best to replace all of them and the friction plate/spacer ?

·
Registered
439 Posts
Can you post a couple more pics of the basket and the housing? Is the material on the housing loose? Or is it chipped?

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Can you post a couple more pics of the basket and the housing? Is the material on the housing loose? Or is it chipped?
its loose little fargment that will come out with my finger

Attachments

·
Registered
439 Posts
Pull the basket and put it in the parts cleaner then take a closer look. Drop the oil. Inspect it closely. Replace the filter. After reassembly and repacking, drop the oil again and inspect it closely and replace the filter and inspect it closely after a short interval.

That's my advice.

Good luck bud, I'm probably making a mountian out of nothing, but I'm paranoid.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Pull the basket and put it in the parts cleaner then take a closer look. Drop the oil. Inspect it closely. Replace the filter. After reassembly and repacking, drop the oil again and inspect it closely and replace the filter and inspect it closely after a short interval.

That's my advice.