Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 70 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All-
I have a 2020 R1 that is basically bone stock. I’ve had it for almost 6 months/ put 6k miles on it and four track days( two more coming this month).
On the street, I have never had any issues with the brakes and feel they work fine. On the track, however, that’s a different story. I am new to track riding (going for bump from novice to intermediate this month) so I’m not an animal on the front brakes. That being said, I have experienced poor feel, loss of brake power, and brake fade to the point of slowing earlier than I should at corner entry. NO LIKEY!!
I am considering losing the ABS system to improve the situation. Can anyone give some opinions/experiences/ warnings on this??
Thanks!!

·
I miss my R1
3,465 Posts
This has been a common observation on Yamaha R1 (and MT/FZ-10), some people don't have any issues with the brake feel, but many others say putting more aggressive pads on really helps a lot.

A friend of mine with a 2017 FZ10 put some EBC HH pads on and said it improved his braking feel significantly.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Iamzombie-
Thanks for the info. I actually have a ‘17 FZ10 in addition to the R1. I used the EBC HH as replacement pads and they do improve feel with initial bite but don’t help the brake fade.
The ‘20 R1 initial bite feels ok to me; it’s the lack of feel during modulation that is tough for me.
On another note...what happened to your R1(why do you miss it?)
Thanks!

·
Venom X/O
24,675 Posts
Got any videos? If you’re getting fade at your pace, it’s prob your braking style and not the bike. I’ve got pretty quick on bike stock brakes on my ‘15 for an entire weekend and never experience fade. Yes did get some abs pump intrusion, but you can tell the difference between that and fade.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #6