Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2020 R1 with about a 100 miles on the ODO. While exiting from the highway a couple of days ago, I was shifting from 3rd to 2nd gear when the motor just shutdown. I was going about 35mph at the time. I was able to restart it with no problem, but I’m concerned that there’s something wrong with the bike. I don’t understand why it would just shutdown like that. Should I be worried about this? It would suck to have to take a brand new bike for warranty work this early.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Did the autoblipper engage somehow without your knowing it?
I’m new to the autoblipper stuff, and I have been trying it out every time I’m out riding the bike, but I wouldn’t know if it kicked in at the time. You think the auto-blipper might have shut the engine down?

I also haven’t gotten rev matching quite right on this bike yet. I caught the whole thing with my GoPro, and I’ve been watching the video repeatedly to see if I did something to kill the engine. It’s possible a badly failed attempt at rev-matching killed the engine, but that seems highly unlikely.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Funny (or not).
Had two -07 and they both did like that, totally randomly and often when i really didn't want it to.

Can't imagine it's the same fault... or could it?
Did you get the bikes checked out/fixed/etc? My biggest concern is if this happens while going 80mph on the highway. I’m thinking that would be a pretty dangerous scenario.

·
R1.. The fast kind
910 Posts
Yes, the first one they took back and gave me another just to find out it had the same problem...
It took a year or so of constant complaining until yamaha found a fix for that problem.

It was on this forum i found out some other 07-08 owners encountered the same thing..

Reading further what happend to you it might not be the same cause..