Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Africkin American
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently got a Ti-Tech in Tatoo blue. I've been riding with an Arai Signet/GT for the past 5 years and wanted/needed a change.
So far, so good. Definitely lighter than the old Arai (Helmet Harbor states the weight at 3lbs, 1 oz - just a little heavier than the Vemar).
It's a pretty comfortable lid, with a nice vent system. The liner has a ridge at ear level which feels a little strange. Maybe this will soften out with wear.
Visor change out is fairly simple (definitely easier than the Arai).
Purchased at iMotorcyclestore
for $450 delivered.

Oh, and it's Valentino Rossi tested and approved! :crash

·
Born 2 Ride
96 Posts
Congrats, nice helmet. Can you give some more info such as noise level, compared to your ARAI or any other helmet youu've worn. Have you worn it for a long trip ? If, yes, do you feel more relaxed with it than with the ARAI.

·
167.38 rwhp
575 Posts

·
Africkin American
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
holmesgr said:
Congrats, nice helmet. Can you give some more info such as noise level, compared to your ARAI or any other helmet youu've worn. Have you worn it for a long trip ? If, yes, do you feel more relaxed with it than with the ARAI.
Noise level is comparable to the old lid, maybe a little better. I always wear earplugs, though. Went on a 3 hour ride last week and a 2 1/2 hour ride yesterday. The lighter weight certainly helps out on longer trips.
Venting seems better than most. The face shield allows some air to leak through. This may be an issue in cold weather.

Overall, I'm happy with the helmet. It was a choice between AGV or the Shoei X11. For me, price and color scheme were the deciding factors.
Hope this helps!

·
Born 2 Ride
96 Posts
foobar said: