Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone busted their a** flipping backwards. I was wondering how bad you would be injured, and if anyone had some stories.

·
450 coming shortly...
7,696 Posts
Have seen a mate loop his bike doing a sit down mono. He wasnt injured too baly,wearing fullgear-fell on his ass then back. Mainly bruising and sore,no major injuries..

The bike on the other hand...:no

·
MY Bike Blows Me
126 Posts
no i havent thats why bikes have a back brake

·
Beeeeeer!
9,540 Posts
Yep, I pulled one up at about 65. All I remember is a scraping sound then I'm doing the back stoke down the road. They said I got it back down then laid it over. Hurt my knee a little and got both sides of the bike. Just had it painted 3 weaks earlier.

·
Redlinin'
1,420 Posts
As a newbie, I thought that clutching a 1st gear wheelie was the way to go. :crash I didn't take the initiative to ask instructions, just tried it on my own, and there was nothing a back brake could have done to help me.

Now I know better, and know that second gear clutches are the better way to go. I'm still learning, and taking it really slowly.

As far as injuries, I suffered a contusion of the right knee, and severely bruised the left, and my tailbone still gets sore if I sit in one place too long. Also the first time ever on crutches.:2bitchsla

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I guess I've been lucky so far. I had a dream last night that I flipped my bike back and I was ok but the bike was totalled. I guess thats why I was thinking about it this morning. I have a friend who's bike just about did a full backflip he had to be airlifted to the hospital. he doesn't remember anything. I dont know how he came back so hard(what was he thinking)He must have redlined it and popped the clutch. I dont know but i guess he is lucky to be alive.

·
Registered
364 Posts