Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,
My name is Yogev, I am a student and my university is participating in the Formula SAE competition. For those who never heard about, Its an engineering competition between universities students around the world of building and racing a Formula car.
We are highly interesting in one of the YZF-R6 engine versions. My questions are:
1) Is there a preferred model (year) that is:
* Light weight
* Have a simple electricity requirement / don't have a lot of sensors.
* Have a performance options (without increasing the capacity)
2) Is there any benefit of turbo-charging a 0.6L engine (For example using Garrett GT15 or GT1241)?
3) The SAE rule:
"The engine(s) used to power the car must be a piston engine(s) using a four-stroke primary heat cycle with a displacement not exceeding 610 cc per cycle. "
4) In addition a 20mm diameter restrictor is located in the intake manifold.
Thanks in advance for your help
Yogev

·
Ditch Digger
397 Posts
1. As far as I know, the weights of the engines for the different years should be pretty similar. The 1999~2002 bikes were carburated, and the 2003 and beyond were fuel injected, with ride by wire throttle starting in 2006 and variable intake length in 2008.

The carbed engines are simpler, but the fuel injected ones are probably easier to tune, and I'm guessing the ride by wire throttle could be made to do some pretty interesting things for certain parts of the competition.

2. You'd get the same benefit from turbocharging as with any other engine, although I'm not sure how well that would work with the intake restrictor requirements. You could probably use the turbo to get more torque at lower RPM, but I don't really have experience with such a setup.

3. The R6 would meet all those requirements (piston engine and 599cc displacement for all years).