Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Keep it between 10k and 15k
1,085 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty sure the answer is no. Today I was out riding with a buddy and I did some lane splitting. When I came to a stoplight a guy in a soccer van honks and shows me his wallet with badge and ID. Says he wrote down my tag number and he's gonna send me a citation in the mail. I was cool and said sorry bout that and took off at the green. He never saw my driver's license, never wrote me a ticket, I didn't sign anything. For all he knows the registered owner wasn't the one on the bike. I think he was just trying to scare me into driving safer. He was pretty mad :rant and if he could have given me a ticket, he would have. :dunno

·
Bulldogger
5,874 Posts
Doubtful at best.

·
Banned
324 Posts
Here in Iowa where I used to be a cop.....yes they can write tickets 24/7 but they have to be willing to go to court if you fight it and back it up.

I was also a volunteer firefighter/ambulance driver in that town and many times when I was driving for ambulance if a driver would not pull over and let us by I would have the other passenger wrtie the tag down and mail it to them.

·
I feel the need for speed
764 Posts
actually he can but most likely will not cause its a pain in the butt to follow up with. Most states will allow both an off duty ofc. or even a citizen to take you to court over the violation BUT as the officer or (citizen) would have to go to your local county attorney and file a complaint with him. If the county attorney decides to go ahead with the complaint he would then issue a summons for you (the violator) to appear in court reference what ever it is they said you did. Then you show up to court contest the charge the judge gives you antoher court date and then supeno's the complainant for both of you to go to court.