Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Greetings fellow R1 enthusiasts
I bought my first bike back in June and I am ecstatic to own this fantastic '01 R1.

I'm completely new to owning a bike as none of my friends have one.

I have a bike stand for storing it over the winter months as to not get any dead spots on the tire and the bike will be kept in my garage which is connected to my house.
Here is what I know:
Don't drain any fluids
Keep half a gas tank
Let it idle 15 min twice a month.

I have a couple of questions:
1. Do I need a cover? Will it help protect the pipes from getting too cold or will all it do is repel dust?
2. What kind of battery tender should I purchase?
I imagine it's a different size for the one that I use to tender my 84 vett.

Thanks in advance for your help.
~Fury~

· I RACE U LOSE
4,145 Posts
I would suggest filling the tank, being in an attached garage will eliminate many 'storage' type of problems (moisture). A Battery Tender brand charger would be an excellent choice. If stored for a month or more, the first start afterwards should have the bike running for 15 minutes or more before the bike is put into gear. R1 clutches don't get much oil on a normal basis, and after sitting a lot of the oil on the plates is gone leaving them pretty dry. Sport Rider smoked a clutch on an R1 that sat for some time, the plates were dry and in their words (from memory) 'it quickly destroyed itself' Running for 20 minutes a month won't do any harm, and IMO could actually do some good, by keeping the parts covered in oil. Un-plugging and re-plugging in the Battery Tender once a week will reset it, if not it will let the battery drop to roughly 12.6 volts before it 'turns on' on its own.

· I'm an Englishman in WI.
33,912 Posts
If it's in a really cold environment I wouldn't start it periodically, it will build more moisture as it cools and that is not good.