Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Banned
304 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Does anyone know the thread size (major DIA & pitch) of the threads on the four bolts used to attach the front calipers to the forks on an '00 R1? After swapping out the front wheel many times, I have finally managed to strip the threads in the forks, so I am going to have to heli-coil them.

·
L8R2U
21,412 Posts

·
Who's Ya Daddy??
5,956 Posts
I am not seeing it in the Owners Manual, Try sending Martinc a pm, he will probably no off the top of his head.

Where are you from in Michigan Arwun? Sounds to me like we might work in the same field and I am wondering if I know you.

·
Who's Ya Daddy??
5,956 Posts
I live in Flint, Work in Troy. I am a Project Manager for one of GM's Engineering Suppliers.

Is the pic in your avatar taken at Grattan?

·
Banned
304 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Yes, that picture's taken @ turn 4 - Grattan.

BTW, I am also an engineer; working @ GM in Pontiac. Do you ever ride in the Pinckney / Hamburg / Hell / Gregory area? Do you attend very many track days @ Grattan / Gingerman / Road America / Mid Ohio / Putnam / etc?

·
Who's Ya Daddy??
5,956 Posts
Havent Done any track days yet, I am taking a class at Grattan in april to get my license. I plan on hitting several track days on the R1 this year and having a track bike for the following year. Just not sure what class I will try to race in yet.

Did you try to PM MartinC on the bolt?

You have PM

·
Banned
304 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
You haven't done ANY track days yet, or you haven't done any at Grattan? If you haven't done any anywhere, I wouldn't expect to go racing any time soon.

Is the class at Grattan in April that you are refering to the free one put on by Team Chicago? If so, I'm an instructor, and it's pretty basic. It will take a lot of practice before I would consider someone ready for actual racing. But, that's just my opinion.

·
Who's Ya Daddy??