Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
I finally gave up my 2007 r1 (and i still love it to this day), it was time to upgrade but i never really liked the 09-14 models so i desperately started looking for 2016 60th anniversary edition but couldn't find one and finally landed on the idea of purchasing a new bike. Ive been riding for 15 years (and all model r1's) or so and I have never owned a brand new bike before. So i decided to go with the 2019 red model, knowing it had some upgrades compared to 2016 and the whole idea of purchasing a new bike made me man up for it :D:D.

Anyways, my first ride made me feel like i just got married again. The bike is exceptionally awesome. Im loving all the tech features it has to offer. Ive only done a few hundred kms and still getting used to all the preset modes, the power delivery is sweet on this bike, Im still in my "break-in" period and still getting used to the new bike, but it goes in out of turns reals good.I still cannot ride in full power mode, as riding around the city in lower rpms the suspension feels very soft and the throttle feels very light compared to my old r1. Im also enjoying accessorizing my bike to my taste. So far ive gone with the 3/4 akra system and can feel the choppiness of the throttle so a tune is gonna happen real soon. It does backfire alot like a biatch, the brakes dont feel so good, could also use an upgrade (cables and pads) i think.

What do you guys think ?? Oh and which oil should i use ?? Lolll ??

** Edit ** Is this color not so popular in the r1 community ? Would like to see what other red owners have done. clear/carbon look tank pads ? red or black hand levers ? i prefer the clear screen, just want to see how it looks on the bike. Other than that, according to the research off of this forum, i think i would go with a ecu tune, smog block off plates, servo eliminator, and possibly down one sprocket.

20200523_032005.jpg

Registered