Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I'm a small engine mechanic for things like lawn mowers and pressure washers. I bought a used '05 R1 that was specced for track racing thinking I just needed to add turn signals and mirrors. This is the first thing bigger than a tiller that I've worked on but so far, I'm confident this isn't crazy different, just bigger.

I noticed one night the headlights didn't want to come on, only the running lights. I got my hand on a service manual (pdf) and some exploded view diagrams (partszilla) and started some hands on discovery on the bike.

Now, I largely can do my job on symptom diag and odd man out but that usually works best when you know how things work to begin with which leads me to a few questions.

(TL;DR)

1) On a 2005 Yamaha R1, are the headlights on while the key is in the on position or only when the engine is running?

2) Is there some sort of when the engine is turned off, headlights will remain on for a short period of time mechanic?

3) I've read some posts here referring to 2 separate relays on regards to the head lights, one for the dimmer and one for the headlights themselves, however I don't see 2 on the tech manual?

4) Is the term, 'dimmer' misleading since the 'dimmer' just seems to turn on the high beams?

My issue: headlights only seen to be on whenever they want to be on.

When they come on, they seem to work fine. No flickering or dimming, so minimal loose connections or battery consumption issues.

No other electrical issues OTHER than I've had to jump the bike twice since discovering the problem twice, once was a cold start when I was moving the bike to look at the wiring. I did keep trying until the starter was clicking, I put that on me. The second time was the next day when i was butt splicing a wire that was cut from it's harness.