Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Biker friends.....

Im a newbie...yes I know I suck. Well a little background info. Im a 26 year old who's married with one kid. Ive been wanting to ride all my life, just never had the oppurtunity. I now have the power to get a bike, with some fierce battles fought with my wife over the subject. Anyways, I really want to get like a 01-02 R6 as my first bike. I have two buddies with an R6 and one buddy with a 03 R1.

I currently have a M class learners and and registerd for MSF begginers bike training on June 3rd (paid for already). I guess my question is DO YOU GUYS THINK I WOULD BE OK WITH A R6 AS MY FIRST BIKE EVER. I dont have any previous bike riding at all but I have driven a stick for all my life. I know and understand where everything on the bike is located and how it works however, I just never rode. What do you guys think....honest opinions only.

:riding

:fork

·
Registered
100 Posts
yeah, you should be fine. take the course. but the course uses 250cc bikes. take it slow you the r6 until you get comfortable. Good luck

·
i need my bike before i snap
246 Posts
i would recomend the r1...i bought a r6 a year ago and now i have ordered a r1...people always say to get a r6 first and get a r1 later but i say if your not rich just get the r1 because you'll just want the r1 after a couple of months... besides you can still kill yourself on the r6...i had mine up to 265 km last summer...remember a bike will only go as fast as the throttle is pulled so buy the r1 and go easy for the first bit until you get comfortable...tell your wife thanks for "letting" you get a bike

·
Registered
100 Posts
i disagree, an r1 is too much, you learn a lot in a year, beside almost everyone drops their 1st bike

·
When In doubt...More Throttle!
86 Posts
RhAngel,
The fact that you are honest enough to show such modesty, speaks volumes about your maturity level.