Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

This is my first post to this forum.

I'm from Australia and am 19 years of age.

The last few years I have gained an interest in motorcycles and recently got my licence to ride.

An R1 is a long way yet, but the first barrier I've come across is getting past my mum. She hates motorbikes in terms of safety and won't let my dad or I get one.

Is there anything that can help get such past a barrier?

Cheers,

Joel

·
I'm a lead farmer MF'r!
617 Posts
cmp010 said:
Welcome, get an apartment and live on your own.
Thats how I did it anyway.
+1

·
Action figure sold separately
12,213 Posts
BTW, I would not recommend going against the wishes of your parent if and while you are a dependant financially or live in their home. And welcome to the forum!!

·
Bulldogger
5,874 Posts
Eyespy said:
Evolve into a financially independant adult and do what you like.
:iamwithst

Yeah, see those things hangn' between your legs?

·
we meat again
18,549 Posts
When I was just 19/20 like your age... one day I just got home and told my mom... I just ordered a new bike... then she's like what... why? Then I told her... well, no matter what I will do it in my life time, so either I do it now while I'm still young and have good physical, or I'll have to do it when I get older with slower reaction and stuff... then she's like, ok fine... :D

And for my Dad, he didn't even know until one day he got home from the airport and opened the garage door... then all he said to me was... you're old enough to make your own decisions, but just have to be responsible for things you do in life... :crash

:riding

·
Bikes or Jeeps, which addition
89 Posts