1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
slowest rider ..rides in front
1,148 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
okay I am seriously thinking about being a professional rider

can someone map out a plan:yesnod

my idea of getting there ...

take a few race classes .. participate in a few local races .. get some sponsors and try to get notice .. if I don't get notice or win races then I guess I am not cut out to be in the industry .. atleast I tried:D

about me:

5'8
155 lbs
1 year and 6,000 miles behind me:eek:
(although I am new to riding I've been a long time fan of motorcycles.. I ride better than most people when they started out.. heck I can out ride them today)
I'm moving back home to California this Summer :thumbup (good-bye snow:finger )

any ideas welcome:fact

·
My R1 keeps me up at night
72 Posts
If you're serious:

I went to school with Colin Edwards when he was making his run to the top in high school. He did exactly what you mentioned. He started racing, won ALL his races, picked up a local sponsor, and the rest is history. It was all pretty exciting at the time. He was cool about it, and he used to have great stories when monday rolled around. Colin was a pure natural talent. I don't know about other racers, but I'm afraid you either have it or you don't. If you have to go to a lot of classes, then it ain't going to happen!

I'm not questioning your riding ability, but I hope you don't have any false illusions about racing. I know they make it look easy, but it would be like me wanting to play pro basketball. I think I'm good until I have to go toe to toe with MJ or the like.

Good luck! :cool:

Just my .02 cents.

·
slowest rider ..rides in front
1,148 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)