Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Respect Physics
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dear seasoned riders,

I want to develop mature throttle control. I have owned my 2003 R1 for about 2 weeks now and am seeking the sage advice of those of you that have the most controlled wrists and fingers on the forum. This is my second Yamaha (my first bike was an FZR 600) and I want to become a really smooth gear-shifter so I can provide a really pleasant riding experience for my wife sitting on that little back seat.

Now I know that time will help a great deal but what I’m looking for are some tips and perhaps exercises that will help me to go through the gears with little to no notice of changes between gears. I’m not looking to ride hard or fast (especially when I have a passenger) because, frankly, I’m not experienced enough to push any limits yet. I’m going to keep those RPMs below 7,000 for now as I get to know my new friend. Any suggestions will be welcome and I thank you for your time in reading this post.

·
Always getting faster...
1,205 Posts
I hope your expectations for passenger comfort aren't too high -- after all it's a sport bike not a cruiser. My wife doesn't really like riding with me even though I try to keep it as smooth as possible.

If you want smooth shifting, just use the clutch and throttle together to try to match rpm's as you're letting out the clutch. Down shifts are harder than up shifts. It takes a little practice, but you should be able to handle it. It will also be smoother at lower rpm because there's less engine braking effect.

·
Will stoppie for coyotes
495 Posts
Ok, here's my $.02: