Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· TurboDave
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a novice trackrider with an 05 R1 . Just completed my first day last weekend. I am an older than dirt rider with an arthritic left knee that I can not bend enough to get the balls of left foot on the OEM shifter and peg.
My right need bends enough to put the ball of right foot on the right peg.

During my instruction, my instructor told me to keep my balls on the pegs. I told him I could not for the left foot.

My question is, can I install a left only rear set and use the OEM right peg and not end up with a problem of imbalance of the bike when making turns at high track racing speeds? Any advice is appreciated. Thanks

· Banned
31,992 Posts
I am a novice trackrider with an 05 R1 . Just completed my first day last weekend. I am an older than dirt rider with an arthritic left knee that I can not bend enough to get the balls of left foot on the OEM shifter and peg.
My right need bends enough to put the ball of right foot on the right peg.

During my instruction, my instructor told me to keep my balls on the pegs. I told him I could not for the left foot.

My question is, can I install a left only rear set and use the OEM right peg and not end up with a problem of imbalance of the bike when making turns at high track racing speeds? Any advice is appreciated. Thanks
i think what you are saying is 'can i have 2 differing height rearsets?'....if so then YES of course you can, BUT! it is YOU that then needs to control the pressure to suit your adapted riding skill. so i say yeah, go for it! and let us know how it goes. good luck bro... i'm not far off body parts failing also.:(

· My R1 Loves to Eat!
52 Posts