Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, please don't flame on me as I'm new to the whole bike scene. Never rode before....

I was given this bike as a gift. So lets not get into the whole you shouldn't be riding this bike blahahah....

I'm here because I have a problem and would like to hear from the more experience people what is wrong.

Well, I was given a 2007 R1. A few weeks ago, I took the bike out around the neighborhood for the first time. Though it was very difficult, I believe I ended up riding the bike around the neighborhood in 5-6th gear. I didn't know I was in such a high gear until I looked down at the thermostats and it tells me that the bike is about to over-heat so I park it there, leave it on idle for a few mins. Then I turn off the engine and the fans kick in.

Well I finally took the bike back home and haven't rode it since. I would go out there to warm up the bike once in a while. A question I have is, how bad did this damage the bike? I probably rode about a total of 5 miles or less, during that time.

Right now the bike every time I hold down the clutch while in neutral the bike makes a funny noise like there is something lose, something is spinning inside, some sorta rattle? Is this normal? Once I stick it in gear the rattling isn't as noticeable but it is still there....Would anyone happen to know what is the problem? What should I do to fix this?

Again, please don't flame on me....I'm here to get guidance on how to fix my bike, so that I don't add to the damage...

Thank you

·
keeps it on two wheels
63 Posts
If you haven't taken an MSF course or something, do yourself a favor and leave it where it is until then. If you "didn't know" you were in 6th gear you need someone to teach you how to ride before you get hurt.