Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
From R6 To R1
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys! New to R1-Forum.com so stick with me I'm new at this ! anyway I have some questions for all you R1 owners. I have owned a 2008 R6 for 3 years and decided to give it to my wife and get a 07 R1 with 8500 miles red in color and I paid 6000.00 for the bike. Well I bought it and the first thing I noticed was the handling issue it has Pirelli Diablo tires and the rear is a 200/50/17 didn't realize the tire size till I got home with the bike it doesn't want to take corners at all, and it wants to get squirly on me. Is the tire size what makes that problem?? and does the pilot power 2ct's work well on the R1 ?? I have them on my R6 ! thanks!!!

·
3,724 Posts
Welcome to the Forum, lets see some pics of the bike!

Pilot power works very well on the R1, coming from an R6, I'd recommend 190/55. The tire will def. effect how it handles, the 55 profile is great for faster turn-in. If you're planning to do track-days, I'd recommend a more track oriented tire like Diablo Rosso Corsa or Corsa 3.

·
Worry About The Addiction
384 Posts
i would say its the tire mine has a 190/50 others will chime in though :fact

+1 on bestman77

·
One 1 to Rule Them All
4,624 Posts
I have the PP-2CT's on my '07 and they work pretty well, a little skittish at the very edge until they are broken in. Ditch the 200 for a 190. Check tire pressures every ride, a couple of psi down and it'll feel like turning a truck. Check steering head every month or so. The dampner will hide a loose head until it starts affecting your turn in under braking.

Oh, and welcome back Bestman :)

·
Lean Junky
437 Posts