Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Let me just say I have done plenty of burn outs before this incident but, yea I know, doing a burn out was probably a stupid idea. Now that we all agree I hope that you can help me.

So to start off I will say I am no mechanic but I am really good with tools and the basics of my bike. So after a burn out when I finally start moving again I get about two blocks then my bike cuts off mid ride. I pull over then I get her to start back up after about a minute but now she sounds terrible, almost like a dirt bike. Luckily I am about 5 blocks from home so after I get her to start back up I ride her home but she won't move like she is supposed to, I maybe got up to 30mph max. Not sure if it was turning her back on was the smartest thing but I'm here now. So as I pull into my driveway she cuts off again, I put her in the garage since it was pretty late and figure I'd give her a look over in the morning.

Next day I start her up to see if i can notice any problems and again, she sounds horrible :(. I then begin to smell something burning and when I get off the bike I look towards the rear and a cloud of white smoke is puffing from my tail pipes. Now I know something is wrong but I do not know where to begin.

I called some of my mechanic friends and some believe it is a head gasket, some believe it is a piston, I myself don't know what to believe I just want some advice on how to go about diagnosing the problem.