Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, new member here!

I’ve been riding for about 10 years; started on a Sportster, to a GSXR-750, and now riding an XSR900. Love the XSR, great bike and lots of fun to ride… but the R1 has always been my dream bike. I’m not giving up the XSR, I like the neutral position for general riding and it’s a bit of a beast in its own right, but I just can’t get away from the way a sportbike feels, so I’d be looking to add a second bike to the stable. There is a big difference between XSR to R1 across the board, so I’m in no doubt that both in their way will keep me smiling when riding.

Asking which R1 is best is a bit of a loaded question, so I’ll say that I’m looking for a newer generation bike. Current status of worldly events however has seen prices (at least in my area) explode, used bikes just as expensive as brand new. So my questions to you is, am I crazy for thinking a brand new R1, with only a few grand difference over a 5-6 year old one, is an objectively sound decision? Or should I go for an even older one and save the cash for upgrades? I’m not a pro rider by any means and will never pretend to be, I’m very much a standard rider in their mid-30’s who knows their limits who just wants to get that dream bike and enjoy it.

I don’t have any R1 pics to post which I know is a forum introduction post no-no, but I don’t know if anyone would really want to see my XSR given your bikes are probably more satisfying to look at 😂

·
Horsepower whisperer
2003 Yamaha YZF-R1
1,617 Posts
XSR is a neat bike.
Now...have you ridden a Superbike before? Because son....it is something like no other.
GSX-R750s was a good introduction into these bikes though. How many miles did you ride it?

Do you want a cross plane? Do you like the 2015+ design?

Just a few things to think about.

Welcome. Post pics of the past and present bikes. We don't mind.

Reactions: 1202067

·
I miss my R1