Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone I'm new to Yamaha and new to these forums. I've had about 15 bikes but never had a Yamaha until last week when I bought an 04 R1 with 17k miles.

Bought the bike from its original owner however it sat for about 2 years he said and had a dead battery. He jumped it (with his truck turned on) when i bought it and it sounded good. Also has a PC and random LED lights around the bike (am going to put it back to stock). So i popped in a new battery because the old one was only get about 2 volts after a charge. Picked one up off ebay (TMS brand and have ran the same type in my race bike for 3 years no problem).

Was showing 12.5 volts with no load then the second you turn on the ignition it drops to 6-7 volts. At one point i heard a lot of clicking from what sounds like a relay with the ignition and kill switch off but w/out touching the starter. I check the two 15a fuses and main relay underneath the seat and took a wire brush to the connectors.

I'm not too familiar w/ electrical systems or Yamaha so I figured I go straight to boards (after searching for a couple hours on here) and see if someone may be able to point me to a common problem or likely problem with these bikes.

I was thinking he may have fried the starter or starter relay when he jumped it but i'm not entirely sure. I don't think it's the battery but i guess i'm not sure on that either. Something is using a ton of juice the second the ignition turns on though because I usually don't even get a click when i hit the starter. I put the battery on a charger even though I thought 12.5-6 was a good number.

Could be something as simple as a nad ground I suppose. I have a manual being shipped to me now so I can start tracing the wires but any guidance would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

· Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·