1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

Im new to the R1 & will be picking my 99 model with 20k on the clock
up around the end of Nov/early Dec.

I have a couple of questions that i hope you can help me with!

Firstly its a blue model with orange wheels.Are these standard or
would you think they have been taken from another model or repainted?

Anything i should be aware of with this kind of mileage or could any
nastys be ready to empty my wallet in the near future?

She runs fine,accelerates clean & apart from carbon indicators appears
to be completly standard.

Any advice would be appreciated ;)

·
Has anyone seen my ratchet?
25,747 Posts
The orange wheels were repainted, as this was not a stock feature. As far what she needs with that typw of mileage, a valve clearance check / adjustment is in order, although they are rarely out of spec, I believe your bike calls for it at 24k miles.

·
Super Moderator
21,722 Posts
The orange wheels were repainted, as this was not a stock feature. As far what she needs with that typw of mileage, a valve clearance check / adjustment is in order, although they are rarely out of spec, I believe your bike calls for it at 24k miles.

:iamwithst Congrats on the bike and welcome to the forum. I would have the fork oil and seals replaced if it hasn't already been done.

·
Forum Moderator
32,430 Posts
Congrats on the bike.... welcome to the forum.

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Hi guys & thanks for the replies.

I thought the wheels had been painted as i didnt see
any others with orange wheels in my search for one.

I will have a good look at the service record when its
available & see what has or hasnt been done & let you
know.

Thanks again.

·
Banned
31,510 Posts
i'm dizzy after looking at your sig pic!:ncont::eek::ncont::eek:

·
My Mac eats your PC
156 Posts