Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, im a newbie and i want a R1 oh so bad. about my question. i just wanna ride, but i just wanna ride on a R1. i was told that i could get one as long as i am careful as hell til i get used to riding it, any truth to that? i come here b/c teh knuckleheads at cycleworld.com are @$$holes. any advice? i mean if the R1 is much to powerful then ill reconsider, but i heard its just as easy to handle as a light bike is ( like a kawasaki 500r), but just a bigger engine. am i talking out my ass or any truth to this? i luv the R1 though.....

·
988 Of 1000 !!
988 Posts
Hey I say if You want a R1 then get it !! Just don't over do it on the throttle thats all. The R1 is pretty light too, weighs in at about 384 lbs. :D

·
Premium Member
6,235 Posts
Dr_Evil: The thing is that it's not a good idea to get the R1 as a first bike. Of course. if you got a lot of self control. Then you could get an R1..

But I'd not get an R1 as my first bike. I had a Yamaha RD250 as first bike.. and even that bike I accidentaly slipped the clutch and got an insane wheelie.. if I'd have been on the R1 back then.. I'd be laying on my back and wondering what the hell went wrong.

Just be careful! Go TRY an R1.. but don't go buy it without having tried one...

Just me.. brainstorming at you hehe.

·
My insurance eats me...
245 Posts
Hey man, my first bike was an R1 and I would do it over again in a second. However, I did race in the dirt for four years and had ridden plenty of sportbikes before I got it. That's not a justification, but I've been on bikes, in one form or another, since I was 14 (I'm 23 now). But don't let squids on 600's tell you not to get one. They are just upset that they didn't have the huevos to step up to the plate when they had a chance. I'd go for it. Just don't be an idiot and you'll have nothing but fun.

·
Registered
447 Posts