Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
890 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to looking at SuMos, and I don't really have the money to convert something like a YZ450 (although the one posted below looks like a damn dream bike).

Anyway, I'm not terribly keen on the 6999 MSRP on the Suzuki DR-Z400SM, but it seems to be the perfect middle ground. Good size motor, ready to go off the floor.

I'm also interested in the Yamaha WR250R, but at 6690 and still needing some conversion, it seems stupid.

the 2014 Kawasaki KLX250S looks pretty fun, and its $5099, which is a nicer price. But is a 250 enough to have street fun?

I am looking for it to be an around-town bike that I can have fun with, but I'd also like to track it now and then. Are Supermotos big enough for a track like Jennings, or do I have to start looking for dedicated SuMo tracks?

Any guidance would be great. I'm not overly familiar with everything yet, so feel free to toss around any info, but try to keep this thread to Street Legal options from the start, not conversions like the other threads.

·
assfault junkies
1,949 Posts
You should probably join supermotojunkie.com plenty of info there. I'm sure some guys will chime in here also though. I think the 250 would suck on the street The drz400sm would be better but its only a five speed, no fuel injection and its heavy compaired to some other sumos. Its also built proof though from according to every thing iv read. I just looked at a O9 DRZ today. I'm still considering it, only thing that scars me is its all safety wired so Im sure its been rode pretty hard.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727

·
Premium Member
890 Posts
Discussion Starter #4