Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,

I'm a newbie to the group, only had my R1 6days! (haven't stopped grinning).

On to the question...

Is it possible to modify the standard exhaust? (2001) I love the look of the exhaust and I don't need anyMORE power, just want it to sound a bit deeper/louder.

Has anybody drilled out the rivets, and seen if there's any packing/baffles that can be removed? Is this likely to mess up the power curve etc.

I know nothing about exhausts but I need to save my money for a steering damper (oh and next years insurance:( )

Thanks

Beefy

(Also posted to Misc)

· Registered
139 Posts
beefcaaake,
maybe you can be the first to experiment doing what you described and post your results here :)

and if you really f**k up while experimenting, you can always find a stock can on ebay for around us$100:thumbup

· why does my zx6 feel slow now?
138 Posts
Yah You can... I pulled mine apart, only the one end....
1. Remove pipe from bike.
2. Drill rivets and punch out... careful not to bend the pipe..
3. Pull end off.
4. Drill a million holes in the end baffle or completely remove like I did with a sawz-all.
5. Cut Center pipe down with hacksaw or sawzall.
6. Replace endcap and re-rivet shut.

This gives the bike a louder exhaust but its not as nice as a regular slip-on or system... but better than nothing.... If you have any questions let me know...

138 Posts
Well I will be honest with you.... Its hard to judge a difference from just riding... I will tell you it sounds different.. :finger and it still pulls wheelies in 2nd at about 6K :rock .... The bike dynoed 136.2 before I cut the pipe apart.... so I am going to get the power commander, through it one, put a slip on map in and see what happens...

· 190 rear section heaven !
1,999 Posts