Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
The Intern
2,404 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in a mood to repaint my race bodywork. I have never done it before, and wonder if there are people on here that could give me a bunch of info on everything I would need to know to do this right. I have an extra tail section I will practice on.
The info I am talking about is:
Prep
paint types
gun types
prepping paint
prepping guns
spraying
spray process (how to spray, layers, time to wait, etc)
finishing paint (clear coat)
finishing paint process (anything else I missed)

So I am in need of a lot of info. Hope there is someone on here that could provide me with the info.
I am going to build a paint booth. Wont be a super pro one, but will have air cleaning system in it, etc.
have a compressor. Looking for guns now as well.

Thanks for any help in advance.

·
The Intern
2,404 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
You saw the R1. It came out pretty good for a can job.

Here is what it looked like when I picked it up:

Even though this is a rattle-can job, I'm pretty handy with a "real" paint gun. I'm happy to walk you through the process, but just assume do it over the phone to save typing. Give me a call if you want, you have my cell #.

Yeah, I want to repaint since it has a few scratches and I will have a vacation coming up starting Dec 17 until new year.
So I thought, why not. I will be sanding and prepping the surface soon. Already doing it for the spare tail section.
As to the can job, it does look nice. I just have the itch to do this more for the sake of learning than necessity. Thinking of same paint scheme (red darker and more metallic and same for silver - more silver and more metallic).
Good to know you have some knowledge on this. may pick your brain. Tx.

·
The Intern
2,404 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·