Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Convention main man
13,733 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I have had a few requests to do some writeups on my experiences of racing. I am now in my second year of racing as a novice so I am going to break this up into a few different posts because to get all the details it is going to take a lot of thinking and writing.

Let me start from the beginning. I had been doing trackdays since 2003 when I got my first sportbike a 2003 R1. Deal's Gap trips with my friends turned into doing more and more trackdays. At first there was never any intention of going racing. There were times I was asked about it and told maybe I should but the funds and never allowed for it. I also didn't have the real desire to race until I purchased my 2006 R6. I had worked my way up to the Advanced level of trackdays with Nesba on my R1 but it was also my streetbike. When I bought my R6 and sold my Roadstar Warrior things started changing. I still had no intention of racing when buying the R6...that was until I got a chance to ride it on the track.

I got asked to represent the R1 and R6 Forum for the 2006 U.S. press launch for the R6 at Willow Springs International Raceway in Feburary of 2006. It was the first chance to ride this bike on the track. Having 2 open tracks to ride all day long really got my wheels turning about possibly racing. This bike was so good at everything it did and just at home on the track. I still did not make any decisions until I got back home and did another tracked on my personal 2006 R6 at Barber Motorsports Park.