Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

Just put a deposit down on a 2006 5vy in red, cant wait to get it, my last bike was a 5pw 2 years ago so good to be back on an R1.

I'd really like a gear indicator. Which one would you all recommend? I would prefer a plug and play but can solder if need be.

Cheers
Dave

· Registered
2,185 Posts
Did you have this on your old bike? reason i ask is i never had this at all on my old bikes and for the most part always knew what gear i was in. My xplane was the first time i had 1 and i can honestly say i never used it, im no pro star by any means but you can totally tell just by the way the bike pulls. My duc came with the heal tech and its a nice unit but again im not looking down at that thing to see what gear im in.

· Crossed Up
1,587 Posts
Did you have this on your old bike? reason i ask is i never had this at all on my old bikes and for the most part always knew what gear i was in. My xplane was the first time i had 1 and i can honestly say i never used it, im no pro star by any means but you can totally tell just by the way the bike pulls. My duc came with the heal tech and its a nice unit but again im not looking down at that thing to see what gear im in.
I never needed one on my old bikes, but after having one on the R1 I wouldn't want a bike without one now. I used FT ECU to change the speedo on my R6 racebike to a gear indicator. Sure a guy mostly knows the gear he's in, but the instance where he does need/want the gear indicator it's worth its weight in gold.

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I never needed one on my old bikes, but after having one on the R1 I wouldn't want a bike without one now. I used FT ECU to change the speedo on my R6 racebike to a gear indicator. Sure a guy mostly knows the gear he's in, but the instance where he does need/want the gear indicator it's worth its weight in gold.