Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Double R
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've got an old 2003 R1 project. Had to strip the rear subframe/tail frame off it for welding and found one of the four mounting bolts was totally stripped out to the point I literally pulled it out with my bare hands.

Now that I have the frame back I need to know what is my best option? My common judgement tells me that a heli coil is best, instead of tapping and threading the aluminum for a larger bolt, so that way the balance isn't throw off side to side (even if it's a couple grams from a larger bolt).

I've never used a heli coil before as well so it's kind of new to my new toolset, but I understand the concepts

Also who would want to see a progress thread as I turn an old, ghetto beater looking, $600 2003 R1 into something that is worth riding?

· go go juice gonna make me win
1,068 Posts
helicoil may be the easiest, but it's def not the best. i guess in some applications it may be good enough, but helicoil break and wear out and need to replaced. i just had this issue a few weeks ago, ended up researching and went with the time sert. if money isn't prohibitive, this is definitely the best, most permanent fix; well, besides completely re-tapping. i'd do that before re-tapping just so u can use existing hardware, but that may not be a big issue for your application. for a subframe, though, i wouldn't trust helicoil.

and i wouldn't worry about balance. i would bet anything that there isn't a single bike on the road that's exactly balanced as it is, a thicker bolt or time sert or anything like that won't make a difference.

· My R1 eats my $.
549 Posts