Yamaha R1 Forum: YZF-R1 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
pavement tester....
7,282 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Set rock hard you will just skip over everything. People often make the mistake of tuning everything super hard for harder riding. That's a no no. Ever watch roadracing? WHen they brake the front end slams down onto the fender, and when they accelerate just the opposite happens...

A great set up is hard to find if you dont know what you are doing. First get your sag set and then work on 1 thing at a time. Take notes that way you will know how each adjustment has affected your ride. If you simply crank the compression up, along with rebound, raise the forks, and adjust the preload all at once, and the bike rides worse than it did-then what adjustments made the difference?

I'm no expert for sure but the suspension of your sportbike is one of the "gray areas" that alot of us are lacking knowledge in. It might be what gets you 3 seconds on the track, or helps you keep up with your riding buddy... Study up!

Here is something that might help:

The Ultimate Suspension Tuning/Trouble Shooting Guide

Forks

1. Bottoms, Too Soft, Wallows
Ask Questions: Under what kind of conditions?
Does it feel good otherwise?
Does it feel too soft everywhere?
A. Oil Level too low.
B. Not enough low speed compression damping
C. Not enough high speed compression damping
D. Spring rate too soft
E. Not enough Spring Pre-Load
F. Dirt in valving, broken valve, bur on piston or shim
G. Damping rod bushing worn out – (Pre 95 KYB problem)
H. Compression valve o-ring broken
I. Damping rod not attached to cap

2. Too Stiff – Deflects, Harsh, Nervous, Twitchy
Ask Question: Everywhere or just on the square edge bumps?
A. Too much compression damping adjustment – HS & LS
B. Too much compression damping internally – HS
C. Spring rate too stiff
D. Too much low speed rebound damping
E. Oil level too high
F. See “Sticky”

3. Rides low (Dynamic) – Oversteers
A. Spring rate too soft